Alves wins PBR Brazil finals event title; Ferreira claims season championship

Silvano Alves takes the event title in Brazil. Photo by Andre Silva.


  • Covering all five of his bulls, reigning World Champion Silvano Alves won the PBR Brahma Super Bull Finals title.
  • Edevaldo Ferreira held on to win the season championship.
  • João Ricardo Vieira earned PBR Brazil Rookie of the Year honors.

In This Article

AMERICANA, Brazil - Reigning World Champion Silvano Alves was the only rider to cover all five of his bulls en route the PBR Brahma Super Bull Finals event title, while Edevaldo Ferreira held on to win the Brazilian season championship on Sunday.

Alves posted 91.75 points on Peninha in the championship round to pass Marcos Menezes for the event title, totaling 434.38 points. Menezes finished second with 360.63 on four bulls, while Marco Eguchi took third with 357.25 points on four bulls.

Eguchi took a horn to the face, before being stepped on by Problema in Round 4. He did not compete in the championship round. 

Ferreira, meanwhile, covered his Round 4 bull for 89.75 points to become the Brazilian Champion, earning a  R$1 million bonus. Both Magno Alves and  Eduardo Aparecido had entered the final day of competition mathmatecially in contention for the title, but Ferreira needed to cover just one bull on Sunday to take the title.

Ferreira, who split fourth and fifth in the average with Guilherme Marchi at the Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas last month, will start the 2013 season on the Built Ford Tough Series in New York.

João Ricardo Vieira  finished fourth at the event with 356.63 points on four bulls, earning PBR Brazil Rookie of the Year honors. Rubens Barbosa placed fifth with 269.50 points on three bulls.

Check out Round 4 results here, and championship round results here. View the final results from the Brahma Super Bull Finals here

© 2014 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.

HAVE SOMETHING TO SAY? We would love to hear it!