Rookie Burtenshaw wins Tamworth Invitational

Nathan Burtenshaw rides Rip Curl en route to victory at the Tamworth Invitational.


  • With 172.5 points on two bulls, rookie Nathan Burtenshaw won the Tamworth Invitational, the third PBR Australian Cup Series event of the season.
  • Chase Outlaw covered two bulls, as well, to finish second in Tamworth, Australia.
  • No qualified rides were made in the championship round at the Tamworth Invitational.

In This Article

TAMWORTH, Australia - Rookie Nathan Burtenshaw put together two solid rides on Saturday to win the fourth-annual Tamworth Invitational, the third PBR Australian Cup Series event of the season.

Having just qualified for the Cup Series a week ago, Bradshaw posted 86 points on Rip Tide in Round 1, before putting up 86.5 points on the notorious Chick A Saw in Round 2, giving him a slight lead over Chase Outlaw and first pick in the bull draft at Aelec Arena.

Outlaw, who finished second in the event, split Round 1 with Burtenshaw with an 86-point effort on Who Your Daddy, and followed with an 85-point score aboard Zee Force in Round 2.

Australians Chris Lowe, Brendon Clark and Lachlan Richardson also covered each of their bulls in the first to rounds, while Josh Birks qualified for the championship round with an event-high score of 87.5 points on Turbo. Jory Markiss and Jordan Hupp also made the championship round.

Stacked full of Australia's top bulls, including two-time PBR Australia Bull of the Year, That's Gold, the championship round proved to be a true test for the qualifiers.

For the second time this year, every rider bucked off in the final round, giving Burtenshaw his first major event win on the PBR Australian Tour. Burtenshaw totaled 172.5 points on two bulls, while Outlaw placed second with 171 points on two bulls.

PBR Australian Cup Series
Tamworth Invitational
Aelec Arena

Round 1
1. Chase Outlaw, 86 points.
Nathan Burtenshaw, 86 points.
3. Lachlan Richardson, 84 points.
4. Jory Markiss, 82.5 points.
Mick Ford, 82.5 points.

Round 2
1. Josh Birks, 87.5 points.
2. Nathan Burtenshaw, 86.5 points.
3. Chris Lowe, 86 points.
4. Chase Outlaw, 85 points.

1. Nathan Burtenshaw, 172.5 points.
2. Chase Outlaw, 171 points.
3. Chris Lowe, 167 points.
4. Brendon Clark, 163.5 points.

© 2014 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.

HAVE SOMETHING TO SAY? We would love to hear it!