Roy's career year continues with 15/15 win

Aaron Roy wins the 15/15 Bucking Battle with 90 points on Meat Hook. Photo by Andy Watson /


  • Aaron Roy captured the 15/15 Bucking battle with a 90-point ride.
  • Shane Proctor failed to ride Mick E Mouse, the Monster Energy bull.
  • Joao Ricardo Vieira is the leader heading into Sunday's action.

In This Article

BILLINGS, Mont. ― Canadian veteran Aaron Roy won the 15/15 Bucking Battle in Billings, Mont., on Saturday night, with a 90-point effort on Meat Hook.

Roy brought the Rimrock Auto Arena crowd to its feet with only the 10th 90-point ride of the 2013 season.

"He's a good, honest bull," Roy said afterward.

He then added, "He's perfect ― kicks hard and keeps you on your rope."

Roy earned a total of 290 points in what continues to be a career-year for the 25-year-old, who earlier in the night was fourth in Round 2 of the Stanley Make Something Great Invitational. He was one of five qualified rides in the 15/15, which also saw Luke Snyder become the first rider to make the whistle on New Holland PowerStar.

Snyder scored 89.25 points and was followed by Jordan Hupp (89.25), Guilherme Marchi (88) and Silvano Alves (71).

Alves, who is the defending back-to-back World Champion and locked in a tight race atop the world standings, declined a re-ride option.

He kept 71 points on the board and added another 120 points for the round average to move past Shane Proctor into second in the standings.

Marco Eguchi is 118 points ahead of Alves and 125.13 ahead of Proctor, while Mauney 619.75 points off the lead pace.

Proctor drew Mick E Mouse in the much-talked-about $78,000 Monster Energy money bull matchup, but came down in less than two seconds in what was an anticlimactic finish to the one-hour show that will be broadcast Sunday afternoon at 1 p.m. ET on CBS.

No rider has yet to cover a single bonus bull this season.

The next Monster Energy bonus bull will be valued at a minimum of $81,000.

Mick E Mouse, who finished second in last year's Classic competition behind only Shepherd Hills Tested, remains unridden in his past 11 BFTS. Proctor, a Washington native, who now makes his home in North Carolina, left the arena area in disgust as Roy ― who recently earned the nickname A.A. Ron ― tipped his cap to a full house in Billings.

Earlier in the night, the Top 35 riders in the world competed in the second round of the Stanley Make Something Great Invitational and after two of four rounds, Joao Ricardo Vieira leads with 174.75 points after riding Jungle Cat for 87 points.

According to, Vieira is currently the hottest rider on the Built Ford Tough Series.

He's vying for his second consecutive event win.

The Brazilian newcomer won two weeks ago in Albuquerque, N.M., and his streak of six consecutive rides also moves him to the top of the leader board in this year's Rookie of the Year race.

Six other riders are now 2-for-2 in Billings with two rounds remaining on Sunday afternoon.

Douglas Duncan is second with 173.5 points followed by Markus Mariluch, who has 173.25 points. Luke Snyder (171.75), J.B. Mauney (171.25), Brendon Clark (167) and Cody Nance (161.75) are the four others with two scores.

Mariluch is enjoying a Cinderella weekend after earning an alternate position this weekend following his Touring Pro Division win in Texarkana, Texas, last weekend at the Mike White Invitational. Mariluch won the second round with 87.75 points on Cooper Tires How We Roll.

Rounding out the round two leaders are Vieira, Luke Snyder (86.5), Aaron Roy (86) and Duncan (85.75).

Sunday's conclusion to the three-day event can be seen at 8 p.m. ET on CBS Sports Network.

Professional Bull Rider Built Ford Tough Series
Stanley Make Something Great Invitational
Rimrock Auto Arena, Billings, Mont.
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Event Points) ...

1. Joao Ricardo Vieira, 87.75-87-174.75 points.
2. Douglas Duncan, 87.75-85.75-173.50 points.
3. Markus Mariluch, 85.5-87.75-173.25 points.
4. Luke Snyder, 85.25-86.5-171.75 points.
5. J.B. Mauney, 87.5-83.75-171.25 points.
6. Brendon Clark, 85-82-167.00 points.
7. Cody Nance, 87.25-74.5-161.75 points.
8. Kody Lostroh, 89-0-89.00 points.
9. Stormy Wing, 87.75-0-87.75 points.
10. Marco Eguchi, 87.5-0-87.50 points.
11. Emilio Resende, 86.25-0-86.25 points.
12. Aaron Roy, 0-86-86.00 points.
13. L.J. Jenkins, 0-85.5-85.50 points.
(tie). Mike Lee, 0-85.5-85.50 points.
15. Chase Outlaw, 0-85-85.00 points.
(tie). Jordan Hupp, 0-85-85.00 points.
17. Nathan Schaper, 83-0-83.00 points.
18. Guilherme Marchi, 82.75-0-82.75 points.
19. Jason Malone, 0-82.5-82.50 points.
20. Ryan Dirteater, 0-81.75-81.75 points.
21. Shane Proctor, 81-0-81.00 points.
22. Fabiano Vieira, 0-80.5-80.50 points.
23. Silvano Alves, 72-0-72.00 points.
Austin Meier, 0-0-0.00 points.
Ben Jones, 0-0-0.00 points.
Billy Robinson, 0-0-0.00 points.
Brant Atwood, 0-0-0.00 points.
Eduardo Aparecido, 0-0-0.00 points.
Jory Markiss, 0-0-0.00 points.
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0-0.00 points.
Reese Cates, 0-0-0.00 points.
Renato Nunes, 0-0-0.00 points.
Sean Willingham, 0-0-0.00 points.
Ty Pozzobon, 0-0-0.00 points.
Zack Brown, 0-0-0.00 points.

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.