PBR announces bracket for Dickies' Iron Cowboy Invitational presented by WinStar World Casino


  • Toby Keith to perform

In This Article

The Professional Bull Riders announced the 24 bull riders who will be competing in the 2011 Dickies® Iron Cowboy Invitational presented by WinStar World Casino at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas, on Feb. 19.

After hosting the two top teams in the National Football League for the Super Bowl, the state-of-the-art facility will showcase the world’s best cowboys and fiercest bucking bulls. The Dickies® Iron Cowboy international field features 17 Americans, five Brazilians, one Australian, and one Canadian.

Superstar singer/songwriter Toby Keith will perform a special one-hour concert prior to the Dickies® Iron Cowboy Invitational, beginning at 7 p.m. Good seats are still available, beginning at $20, and the price includes the concert and the Iron Cowboy. Tickets are on sale at the Cowboys Stadium box office, online at www.Ticketmaster.com and by telephone at (800) 745-3000.

The bracket-style event has the riders competing head-to-head for $200,000, the largest one-day payout of the regular season. The winner will receive $50,000, and has the opportunity to win an additional $100,000 if he can ride one of the top contenders for World Champion Bull. The runner-up receives $25,000, and each qualified ride will earn $1,000.

The Dickies® Iron Cowboy will also mark the return of PBR fan favorite Justin McKee to the arena as an announcer, working alongside Brandon Bates and Clint Adkins.

The Top 8 seeds are the top finishers in the final regular-season 2010 Built Ford Tough Series standings. 2010 PBR World Champion Renato Nunes of Buritama, Brazil, however, is unable to compete due to a broken hand, so the No. 9 finisher moves to a final No. 8 seeded position. The Top 8 riders receive a bye in the first round.

Click for the 2011 Dickies® Iron Cowboy Invitational presented by WinStar World Casino bracket

Austin Meier of Kinta, Okla., who finished second in the world last season, replaces Nunes as the top seed, while J.B. Mauney of Mooresville, N.C., is No. 2. Defending Iron Cowboy Champion and current top-ranked rider Valdiron de Oliveira of Aparecida de Goiania, Brazil, is the No. 3 seed, and 2004 PBR World Champion Mike Lee of Decatur, Texas, is No. 4. Robson Palermo of Rio Branco, Brazil, is the No. 5 seed, and 2008 PBR World Champion Guilherme Marchi of Leme, Brazil, is No. 6. 2010 PBR Rookie of the Year Silvano Alves of Pilar do Sul, Brazil, is the No. 7 seed, and Ryan McConnel of Atoka, Okla., is No. 8.

The remainder of the field is filled with the 16 highest-ranked riders on the Built Ford Tough Series as of Jan. 31: Travis Briscoe of Edgewood, N.M., who finished second in the 2010 Dickies® Iron Cowboy; Cody Campbell of Summerville, Ore.; Ned Cross of Midland, Ore.; Douglas Duncan of Alvin, Texas; Dustin Elliott of North Platte, Neb.; Jordan Hupp of Cheyenne, Wyo.; L.J. Jenkins of Porum, Okla.; Ben Jones of Goulburn, Australia; Skeeter Kingsolver of McLouth, Kan.; Paulo Lima of Bezerros, Brazil; 2009 PBR Rookie of the Year Cody Nance of Paris, Tenn.; Shane Proctor of Mooresville, N.C.; Pistol Robinson of Burleson, Texas; Aaron Roy of Asquith, Saskatchewan; Sean Willingham of Summerville, Ga.; and Stormy Wing of Dalhart, Texas.

Fourteen riders who competed in the inaugural event are back this year: Briscoe, Cross, Elliott, Jenkins, Kingsolver, Lee, Marchi, Mauney, McConnel, Meier, Oliveira, Palermo, Proctor, and Willingham. Roy qualified for the event in 2010, but did not compete as conflicted with his wedding day.

In 2010, Briscoe, who was the No. 9 seed, and Oliveira, who was the No. 4 seed, reached the championship round. McKennon Wimberly, who was the No. 14 seed, and Jenkins, who was the No. 15 seed, advanced to the semifinals.

About the Professional Bull Riders, Inc. (PBR)
The PBR is the world’s premier bull riding organization. More than 100 million viewers annually watch over 400 hours of primetime PBR programming on VERSUS, NBC, CBS and networks around the world. The PBR has awarded over $100 million in prize money, and 20 riders have earned over $1 million, including Justin McBride with $5.5 million – the most of any western-sports athlete in history. The PBR was nominated as 2010 Sports League of the Year at the Sports Business Journal Sports Business Awards, alongside the National Football League, National Basketball Association and Major League Baseball. Nearly 2 million fans attend Built Ford Tough Series and Touring Pro Division events each year. For more information on the PBR, go to www.pbr.com, or follow on Facebook at www.facebook.com/TeamPBR and http://twitter.com/TEAMPBR.

About Dickies
Dickies' is the leading global brand of innovative and trusted work wear. The brand has an unwavering commitment and proud heritage of providing tough, quality clothing to workers for more than 88 years. The Dickies brand has grown from bib overalls to World War II U.S. military uniforms to its iconic Original 874' Work Pant, to footwear, and much more. Embraced by workers everywhere, Dickies is defined by the people who wear our apparel ' independent, no nonsense and a little rough around the edges. As the signature brand in the portfolio owned by Williamson-Dickie Mfg Co., Dickies products are available in more than 60 countries worldwide. For more about Dickies, visit www.dickies.com.

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.