PBR announces Built Ford Tough Series promotions


  • Dakota Beck, Marco Eguche, Dusty Ephrom, Jory Markiss, Chase Outlaw, Ty Pozzobon, Chance Roberts, Harve Stewart, and Tyler Thomson have earned a spot on the Built Ford Tough Series.
  • Elton Cide, Douglas Duncan, Dustin Elliott, Douglas Ferreira, Ben Jones, and Paulo Lima have been cut from the BFTS.

In This Article

PUEBLO, Colo. - The Professional Bull Riders announced that the following riders have been promoted to the nationally-televised PBR Built Ford Tough Series: Dakota Beck, Marco Eguche, Dusty Ephrom, Jory Markiss, Chase Outlaw, Ty Pozzobon, Chance Roberts, Harve Stewart, and Tyler Thomson.

Beck, Eguche, Markiss, and Pozzobon earned their promotions by earning enough BFTS points through the first five events of the season. Eguche is ranked fourth after winning two weeks ago at Sacramento, Calif., and finishing second three weeks ago in Portland, Ore. Pozzobon is ranked eighth, following a fifth-place finish in Anaheim, Calif., and Top 10 finishes in New York and Baltimore. Markiss finished third at Sacramento, Calif., and is ranked 23rd, while Beck is ranked 25th after finishing seventh last weekend in Baltimore.

Ephrom, Outlaw, Roberts, Stewart, and Thomson earned their spots by ranking among the Top 5 riders on the PBR Touring Pro Division, based on money earned. Roberts and Thomson are currently injured, and each will receive five injury exemptions once he is cleared to compete.

In addition to Roberts and Thomson, riders with five injury exemptions are Pete Farley, Skeeter Kingsolver, Robson Palermo, Shane Proctor, and McKennon Wimberly. Riders with four injury exemptions are Reese Cates, Wiley Petersen, and Pistol Robinson. David Kennedy and Rubens Barbosa each have two injury exemptions, while Cody Campbell, Elliott Jacoby, and Colby Yates have one exemption apiece.

Riders who were cut from the BFTS are Elton Cide, Douglas Duncan, Dustin Elliott, Douglas Ferreira, Ben Jones, and Paulo Lima.

The BFTS returns to Oklahoma City and Chesapeake Energy Arena on Feb. 10-12 for the WinStar World Casino Invitational presented by Express Employment Professionals. Bull riding begins at 8 p.m. on Friday, Feb. 10, at 7 p.m. on Saturday, Feb. 11, and at 2 p.m. on Sunday, Feb. 12. Tickets are on sale now at the Chesapeake Energy Arena box office, www.Ticketmaster.com, and by telephone at (405) 602-8700 and (800) 745-3000.

The TPD allows established veterans and newcomers alike the opportunity to compete against some of the world's best bucking bulls.

The TPD gives riders the opportunity to compete in PBR-sanctioned events while earning money to qualify for the nationally-televised Built Ford Tough Series, which is comprised of the Top 35 bull riders in the world. Every five events on the BFTS, the Top 5 riders (based on money earned) from the TPD are allowed to move into the BFTS.

The BFTS features the world's best and highest-paid bull riders competing against the fiercest bucking bulls on the planet. The first five events have produced five different winners, including J.B. Mauney, who moved atop the world standings following his victory last weekend in Baltimore.

The action from Oklahoma City will be televised in HD on NBC Sports Network, formerly Versus, at 9 p.m. ET on Saturday, Feb. 11. CBS Sports Network will air the action this Sunday, Feb. 12, at 6 p.m. ET. There will be encore airings this Sunday, Feb. 12, at 10 p.m. ET, and on Monday, Feb. 13 at 9 p.m. ET. Fans will be able to see the action from Friday online in the PBR Live Event Center beginning at 9 p.m. ET.

Oklahoma City is the sixth of 28 stops on the 2012 BFTS schedule, which opened on Jan. 6-8 with capacity crowds at Madison Square Garden in New York. The BFTS will make 28 stops in 23 states before the Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Oct. 24-28, 2012. The World Finals are where the PBR World Champion will be crowned and awarded the coveted championship buckle and a $1 million bonus. The richest bull riding event in the world, the World Finals has a total purse of more than $2 million.

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network, NBC, NBC Sports Network, and YouTube. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy┬« Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer. 

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.