Mauney crowned 2012 Dickies® Iron Cowboy


  • J.B. Mauney maintained his position at the top of the world standings, winning the Dickies® Iron Cowboy III presented by Winstar World Casino on Saturday.

In This Article

ARLINGTON, Texas - In front of 34,141 fans at Cowboys Stadium, J.B. Mauney maintained his position at the top of the world standings, winning the Dickies® Iron Cowboy III presented by Winstar World Casino on Saturday. Mauney rode four bulls and attempted Buckey (Wentz) for the bonus bull. He didn't cover the bonus bull, but went home with $50,000 for the event win.

After three rounds, it came down to last year's runner-up Austin Meier and Mauney facing off against the top two bulls in the competition: Bushwacker (Julio Moreno/Richard Oliveira) and Asteroid (Circle T Ranch & Rodeo). Meier held on to Asteroid for 5.66 seconds, but Mauney managed to last 7.22 seconds on Bushwacker.

The $50,000 bonus that would have gone to Mauney had he covered Buckey in the bonus round will now carry over to the "Last Cowboy Standing," a progressive-elimination event next weekend in Detroit, making the top prize there $150,000.

In the semifinals in Arlington, Meier stayed on Mulligan Man (New Frontier Rodeo) for 5.06 seconds, beating out Marco Eguche, who held on to Shepherd Hills Trapper (Circle T Ranch & Rodeo) for only 3.10 seconds.

Mauney advanced in the semifinals over 2010's Iron Cowboy, Valdiron de Oliviera, by hanging on to Shepherd Hills Tested (Luthy/Duckwall/D&H Cattle) for 4.73 seconds to Oliveira's 2.56 seconds on Smackdown (Dakota Rodeo/ Chad BergerStruve).

The Built Ford Tough Series will conclude its Stadium Tour next Saturday, March 10, with the first-ever visit to Detroit at Ford Field. Big & Rich with special guest Cowboy Troy will perform prior to the Top 35 bull riders and the fiercest bucking bulls taking the field for an action-packed event.

Last Cowboy Standing is a progressive-elimination format that has all of the Top 35 bull riders in the world riding a bull in Round 1. Riders who reach 8 seconds in Round 1 will advance to the next round, where they will each ride another bull. The elimination format continues until there is only one cowboy left. There will be a maximum of five rounds. The event winner will receive a minimum of $150,000.

Tickets begin at $10, and include the concert at 8 p.m. and the PBR Built Ford Tough Series event at 9 p.m. Tickets are on sale at the Ford Field box office, and by telephone at (800) 745-3000. The PBR and Ford are offering a limited number of Built Ford Tough All aXXess passes for $200. In addition to providing the best seats for the bull riding, the passes allow the bearers to go onto the dirt before the event, allowing them to meet PBR riders to get autographs and photographs.

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network, NBC, NBC Sports Network, and YouTube. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer. 

Arlington was the ninth of 28 stops on the 2012 BFTS schedule, which opened on Jan. 6-8 with capacity crowds at Madison Square Garden in New York. The BFTS will make 28 stops in 23 states before the Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Oct. 24-28. The World Finals are where the PBR World Champion will be crowned and awarded the coveted championship buckle and a $1 million bonus. The richest bull riding event in the world, the World Finals has a total purse of more than $2 million.

Saturday's Professional Bull Rider Built Ford Tough Series Results
Dickies® Iron Cowboy III Invitational presented by WinStar World Casino
Results from Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas

Round 1
(1) Silvano Alves advances with bye.
(17) Renato Nunes, 5.28 seconds, d. (16) Harve Stewart, 3.19 seconds.
(8) Ryan McConnel advances with bye.
(9) Marco Eguche, 86.75 points, d. (24) Stormy Wing, 2.69 seconds.
(4) Fabiano Vieira advances with bye.
(13) Ty Pozzobon, 7.75 seconds d. (20) Caleb Sanderson, 7.01 seconds.
(5) Austin Meier advances with bye.
(12) Jordan Hupp, 87 points, d. (21) Sean Willingham, 3.00 seconds.
(2) Valdiron de Oliveira advances with bye.
(15) Kody Lostroh, 6.20 seconds, d. (18) Cord McCoy, 5.74 seconds.
(7) L.J. Jenkins advances with bye.
(23) Justin Koon, 88.5 points, d. (10) Luke Snyder, 6.86 seconds.
(3) Guilherme Marchi advances with bye.
(19) Ryan Dirteater, 5.35 seconds, d. (14) Cody Nance, 4.91 seconds.
(6) J.B. Mauney advances with bye.
(22) Jory Markiss, 5.55 seconds, d. (11) Aaron Roy, 4.76 seconds.

Round 2
Nunes, 89 points, d. Alves, 2.51 seconds.
Eguche, 4.40 seconds, d. McConnell, 3.88 seconds.
Pozzobon, 88 points, d. Vieira, 86.25 points.
Meier, 7.72 seconds, d. Hupp, 3.93 seconds.
Oliveira, 86 points, d. Lostroh, 3.67 seconds.
Koon, 6.25 seconds, d. Jenkins, 6.01 seconds.
Marchi, 70 points, d. Dirteater, 5.11 seconds.
Mauney, 86.5 points, d. Markiss, 3.86 seconds.

Eguche, 85 points, d. Nunes, 3.28 seconds.
Meier, 91 points, d. Pozzobon, 5.45 seconds.
Oliveira, 5.22 seconds, d. Koon, 2.85 seconds.
Mauney, 6.39 seconds, d. Marchi, 1.54 seconds.

Meier, 5.06 seconds, d. Eguche, 3.10 seconds.
Mauney, 4.73 seconds, d. Oliveira, 2.56 seconds.

Mauney, 7.22 seconds on Bushwacker (Julio Moreno / Richard Oliveira), d. Meier, 5.66 seconds, on Asteroid (Circle T Ranch & Rodeo).

$50,000 Bonus
Buckey (Wentz Bucking Bulls) d. Mauney, 3.04 seconds.

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.