Eguchi leads after Round 1 in Windy City

Marco Eguchi notches 87.75 points on Cooper Tires How We Roll to take the lead.


  • Nineteen bull riders recorded qualified scores in Round 1.
  • Marco Eguchi put up 87.75 points on Cooper Tires How We Roll to take the early lead in Chicago.
  • The Chicago Invitational concludes Sunday.

In This Article

CHICAGO ― Marco Eguchi rode Cooper Tires How We Roll (Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger Bucking Bulls) for 87.75 points to take Round 1 of the Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series Chicago Invitational in front of 9,407 fans at the Allstate Arena on Saturday night.

2010 World Champion Renato Nunes is in second place after riding Jailhouse Rock (Show Sports/Jane Clark) for 87.50 points. Ben Jones sits in third with 87 points on Shaky Waters (Show Sports/Jane Clark) and Chase Outlaw is in fourth after riding (Wolf Creek Cattle Company) for 86.75 points.

Robson Palermo, who won the season-opening Monster Energy Invitational last weekend at Madison Square Garden in New York, bucked off bonus bull Mississippi Hippy (New Frontier Rodeo) after 7.50 seconds. The $3,000 from the unridden bonus bull will carry over to the Monster Money Bull that will be attempted next weekend in the 15/15 Bucking Battle at the Winston-Salem Invitational.

Round 2 begins in Chicago at 2 p.m. on Sunday. Tickets are available at and by telephone at (800) 745-3000. Each of the 35 riders will ride on Sunday. Following Round 2, up to 15 riders will advance to the Built Ford Tough Championship Round.

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network and networks around the world. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer. 

The PBR is celebrating 20 years of competition in 2013. PBR broadcasts reach more than half a billion households in 50 nations and territories around the world, and more than 2.5 million fans attend PBR events each year. PBR has awarded more than $120 million dollars in prize money over 20 years of competition, including a $1 million dollar bonus to the PBR World Champion each year.

Chicago is the second of 26 stops in 18 states that the Built Ford Tough Series schedule, which again opened the season with capacity crowds at Madison Square Garden in New York. The season will conclude at the Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Oct. 23-27, 2013. The PBR World Champion will receive the coveted Championship buckle and a $1 million bonus and a new pickup truck from Ford, which is also title sponsor of the Built Ford Tough Series.

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
Chicago Invitational
Allstate Arena in Chicago
Event Leaders (Round 1-Total Points)

1. Marco Eguchi, 87.75-87.75 points.
2. Renato Nunes, 87.5-87.50 points.
3. Ben Jones, 87-87 points.
4. Chase Outlaw, 86.75-86.75 points.
5. Cody Johnson, 86.5-86.50 points.
6. Douglas Duncan, 86.5-86.50 points.
Stormy Wing, 86.5-86.50 points.
8. Caleb Sanderson, 86.25-86.25 points.
9. Billy Robinson, 86-86 points.
Silvano Alves, 86-86 points.
11. Jordan Hupp, 85.75-85.75 points.
12. Harve Stewart, 85.25-85.25 points.
13. Robson Palermo, 84.75-84.75 points.
14. Agnaldo Cardozo, 83.75-83.75 points.
15. Josh Faircloth, 83.5-83.50 points.
16. Emilio Resende, 82.5-82.50 points.
17. Fabiano Vieira, 80.25-80.25 points.
18. Edevaldo Ferreira, 77.75-77.75 points.
19. Nathan Schaper, 71-71 points.
Aaron Roy, 0-0 points.
Austin Meier, 0-0 points.
Brendon Clark, 0-0 points.
Cody Nance, 0-0 points.
Guilherme Marchi, 0-0 points.
J.B. Mauney, 0-0 points.
Jared Farley, 0-0 points.
Jory Markiss, 0-0 points.
Kody Lostroh, 0-0 points.
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0 points.
Luke Snyder, 0-0 points.
Markus Mariluch, 0-0 points.
Mike Lee, 0-0 points.
Ryan Dirteater, 0-0 points.
Ty Pozzobon, 0-0 points.
Zane Lambert, 0-0 points.

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.