Game notes: Chicago


  • Robson Palermo won the Chicago event in 2011.
  • Silvano Alves is the top ranked bull rider in the BFTS and sits 222.54 points ahead of Aaron Roy.
  • The bonus bull in Chicago is Mississippi Hippy.

In This Article

THIS WEEK- The PBR Built Ford Tough Series is back in Chicago for the fourth time in history, and for the first time since 2011.

PAST WINNERS- Robson Palermo won in Chicago in 2011, going 4-for-4 and winning the Built Ford Tough Championship Round with 91.25 points on Cooper Tires Wild & Out. Austin Meier won his first Built Ford Tough Series event at Chicago in 2006. Here is a complete list of winners in Chicago:

2011 Robson Palermo

2008 Adriano Moraes and Dustin Hall

2006 Austin Meier

FORMAT- Each of the 35 riders will ride on Saturday and Sunday. Following Round 2 on Sunday, up to 15 riders will advance to the Built Ford Tough Championship Round. The championship round will have a minimum of 10 and a maximum of 15 riders. Riders who have ridden two bulls will advance to compete with one more bull. In the event that fewer than 10 riders ride two bulls, the riders with the highest score or the longest buckoff time will advance. In the event that more than 15 riders ride two bulls, the 15 riders with the highest cumulative scores will advance. The overall event winner will be the rider with the highest combined score from all three rounds, earning $30,000 for first place.

BONUS BULL- By winning the Monster Energy Invitational in New York, Robson Palermo has earned the chance to get on a "Bonus Bull" - Mississippi Hippy (New Frontier Rodeo) - following Round 1 on Saturday in Chicago. If Palermo reaches 8 seconds he will receive $3,000. If he does not record a qualified ride, the $3,000 will be added to the "Monster Money Bull" payout which is currently $18,000.

MONSTER MONEY BULL- Monster Energy is sponsoring a "Monster Money Bull" at nine Built Ford Tough Series events. Seven of the matchups will be a randomly-selected bull in the PBR 15/15 Bucking Battle (Jan. 18 at Winston-Salem, N.C.; Feb. 1 at Sacramento, Calif.; Feb. 23 at Kansas City, Mo.; April 6 at Billings, Mont.; April 20 at Des Moines, Iowa; Sept. 20 at Biloxi, Miss.; and Oct. 4 at Fayetteville, N.C.). The remaining two will be a randomly-selected bull in the Built Ford Tough Championship Round at the Monster Energy Invitational in New York and the LiftMaster Invitational in Anaheim, Calif., on Feb. 8-10. The Monster Money Bull begins at $6,000, and will continue to increase by $6,000 each time a rider fails to reach 8 seconds. The payout will also include the $3,000 from each time a rider does not reach 8 seconds on a "Bonus Bull." Here is a look at the Monster Money Bull by event:

Event     Bull Rider Payout
New York Bonus Bull South Paw Stormy Wing $3,000
New York Bonus Bull Quiet Riot Silvano Alves  $3,000
New York Monster Money Bull Rock & Roll  J.B. Mauney $6,000
Winston-Salem   Monster Money Bull   Asteroid   - $6,000
Current Value - - - $18,000




PBR BUILT FORD TOUGH WORLD FINALS- The Built Ford Tough Series season will conclude Oct. 23-27 in Las Vegas with the PBR Built Ford Tough World Finals, where the PBR World Champion will be crowned and awarded a $1 million bonus. The richest bull riding event in the world, the World Finals has a total purse of more than $2 million.

POSSIBLE POINTS- There are 900 possible points available in Chicago as the winner of the event will receive 300 points and each of the three round wins is worth 100 points plus the ride score.

UP NEXT- The Built Ford Tough Series will return to Winston-Salem, N.C. for the fourth time, visiting Lawrence Joel Veterans Memorial Coliseum on Friday, Jan. 18, and Saturday, Jan. 19. Bull riding begins at 8 p.m. ET on Friday and Saturday.

ALVES MAKES HISTORY- Silvano Alves is the first rider in history to win back-to-back Built Ford Tough Series World Championships, earning the titles in 2011 and 2012. In 2011, Alves became the first rider to win the World Championship the year after winning the Rookie of the Year title. Adriano Moraes won the first title in 1994, and became the first two-time winner in 2001. He became the only three-time winner in 2006. The other two-time World Champions are Chris Shivers (2000 and 2003) and Justin McBride (2005 and 2007).

METEROIC CLIMB ON MONEY LIST- Alves has earned more than $3.3 million, and ranks fifth in career earnings. He reached $3 million faster than any bull rider in history, achieving it in 76 events and 28 months. He also reached $2 million (23 months and 58 events), and $1 million (18 months and 47 events) faster than any other rider.

TELEVISION BROADCAST- CBS Sports Network will broadcast Round 1 at 10 p.m. ET on Saturday, Jan. 12, and Round 2 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round at 8 p.m. ET on Sunday, Jan. 13. Saturday will be a "Pure PBR" broadcast with Brandon Bates, PBR Ring of Honor member J.W. Hart, and Dickies®DuraBullfighter Shorty Gorham. Sunday's broadcast will have Clint Adkins providing the play-by-play, filling in for Craig Hummer, who is recovering from a cycling accident. Color commentary will be provided by Hart, and dirt-level interviews will be handled by Leah Garcia. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR by David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer and creative lead.

PROVIDING PROTECTION- The Dickies® DuraBullfighters are Jesse Byrne of Okotoks, Alberta; Shorty Gorham of Cotulla, Texas; and Frank Newsom of Paoli, Okla.

TOP-RANKED RIDER- Two-time defending World Champion Silvano Alves is the top-ranked rider on the Built Ford Tough Series. Here are the top-ranked riders with their BFTS points by week:

Week 1 - Silvano Alves, 1068.41 (222.54 points ahead of Aaron Roy)

Editor's note: The point leader on June 1 has gone on to win the World Championship four times in the last six years: Renato Nunes (2010), Kody Lostroh (2009), Guilherme Marchi (2008), and Justin McBride (2007).


© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.