Markiss leads in Oklahoma City after Round 1

Jory Markiss rides Fairy Tattoo for 89 and the night's win. Photo by Andy Watson /


  • Jory Markiss won Round 1 with 89 points on Fairy Tattoo.
  • J.B. Mauney and Emilio Resende are tied for second.
  • CBS Sports will broadcast Round 2 at 10 p.m. ET on Saturday, Jan. 26.

In This Article

OKLAHOMA CITY ― Riding Fairy Tattoo  for 89 points, Jory Markiss took the early lead at the WinStar World Casino Invitational presented by Express Employment Professionals at Chesapeake Energy Arena.

J.B. Mauney and Emilio Resende are tied for second with 88 points through the first round of Built Ford Tough Series action. Mauney covered Hustle Up, while Resende made the whistle on Stone Sober. 

Stormy WingSean Willingham and 2010 World Champion Renato Nunes are tied for fourth with 87.50 points.

CBS Sports will broadcast Round 2 at 10 p.m. ET on Saturday. Round 3 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round will air at 8 p.m. ET on Sunday.

Round 2 will begin at 7:50 p.m. on Saturday. Tickets are available at, and by telephone at (800) 745-3000. Round 3 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round will begin at 2 p.m. on Sunday. Each of the 35 riders will ride on Saturday and Sunday. Following Round 3 on Sunday, up to 15 riders will advance to the Built Ford Tough Championship Round.

The Built Ford Tough Series is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network and networks around the world. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer. 

The PBR is celebrating 20 years of competition in 2013. PBR broadcasts reach more than half a billion households in 50 nations and territories around the world, and more than 2.5 million fans attend PBR events each year. The PBR has awarded more than $120 million in prize money over 20 years of competition, including a $1 million bonus to the PBR World Champion each year.

Oklahoma City is the fourth of 26 stops in 18 states that the Built Ford Tough Series will make. The season will conclude at the Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Oct. 23-27, 2013. The PBR World Champion will receive the coveted Championship buckle and a $1 million bonus and a new pickup truck from Ford, which is also title sponsor of the Built Ford Tough Series.

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
WinStar World Casino Invitational
Chesapeake Energy Arena in Oklahoma City
Event Leaders (Round 1-Total Points)

1. Jory Markiss, 89-89 points.
2. Emilio Resende, 88-88 points.
J. B. Mauney, 88-88 points.
4. Renato Nunes, 87.5-87.50 points.
Sean Willingham, 87.5-87.50 points.
Stormy Wing, 87.5-87.50 points.
7. Agnaldo Cardozo, 86.5-86.50 points.
Brendon Clark, 86.5-86.50 points.
9. Ty Pozzobon, 86.25-86.25 points.
10. Lachlan Richardson, 85.25-85.25 points.
11. Austin Meier, 84.75-84.75 points.
12. Chase Outlaw, 84.5-84.50 points.
13. Cody Nance, 83.5-83.50 points.
14. Brant Atwood, 82.75-82.75 points.
15. Jordan Hupp, 82.25-82.25 points.
16. Ben Jones, 81.75-81.75 points.
17. Douglas Duncan, 68.25-68.25 points.
18. Marco Eguchi, 66.25-66.25 points.
Aaron Roy, 0-0 points.
Billy Robinson, 0-0 points.
Caleb Sanderson, 0-0 points.
Cody Johnson, 0-0 points.
Dakota Beck, 0-0 points.
Edevaldo Ferreira, 0-0 points.
Guilherme Marchi, 0-0 points.
Harve Stewart, 0-0 points.
Jared Farley, 0-0 points.
Joao Ricardo Vieira, 0-0 points.
Luke Snyder, 0-0 points.
Mike Lee, 0-0 points.
Nathan Schaper, 0-0 points.
Robson Palermo, 0-0 points.
Ryan Dirteater, 0-0 points.
Shane Proctor, 0-0 points.
Silvano Alves, 0-0 points.

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.