Mauney takes over lead in New York

J.B. Mauney covers Unpredictable to claim Round 2 and the overall lead.


  • J.B. Mauney is in prime position to win his third New York title.
  • CBS Sports Network will broadcast Round 3 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round at 8 p.m. ET on Sunday, Jan. 6.

In This Article

NEW YORK ? J.B. Mauney rode Unpredictable (Austin Riley/Teague Bucking Bulls) for 88.50 points in front of 15,811 fans on Saturday to win Round 2 and move into the lead after the second day of action at the Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series Monster Energy Invitational at Madison Square Garden.

Round 3 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round will begin at 1 p.m. on Sunday. Each of the 35 riders will ride on Sunday. Following Round 3, up to 15 riders will advance to the Built Ford Tough Championship Round. Tickets are available at, and by telephone at (800) 745-3000.

CBS Sports Network will broadcast Round 3 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round at 8 p.m. ET on Sunday, Jan. 6.

Mauney is looking to become the first three-time winner in New York. He won the inaugural event in 2007 and became the first two-time winner in 2009. He has 174.50 points, and a 1/4-point lead over Chase Outlaw, who finished second in Round 2 with 88 points.

2009 World Champion Kody Lostroh is in third place with 172.25 points, followed by 2010 World Champion Renato Nunes with 171.75 points and Robson Palermo with 171.50 points.

Watch on Youtube

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network and networks around the world. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

The PBR is celebrating 20 years of competition in 2013. PBR broadcasts reach more than half a billion households in 50 nations and territories around the world, and more than 2.5 million fans attend PBR events each year. PBR has awarded more than $120 million dollars in prize money over 20 years of competition, including a $1 million dollar bonus to the PBR World Champion each year.

New York is the first of first of 26 stops in 18 states that the Built Ford Tough Series will make. The season will conclude at the Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Oct. 24-28, 2012. The PBR World Champion will receive the coveted Championship buckle and a $1 million bonus and a new pickup truck from Ford, which is also title sponsor of the Built Ford Tough Series.


Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
Monster Energy Invitational
Madison Square Garden in New York
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Total Points)

1. J. B. Mauney, 86-88.5-174.50 points.
2. Chase Outlaw, 86.25-88-174.25 points.
3. Kody Lostroh, 86.75-85.5-172.25 points.
4. Renato Nunes, 86-85.75-171.75 points.
5. Robson Palermo, 85.5-86-171.50 points.
6. Ryan Dirteater, 77.25-85-162.25 points.
7. Stormy Wing, 88.25-0-88.25 points.
8. Douglas Duncan, 0-87.25-87.25 points.
9. Billy Robinson, 87-0-87 points.
10. Brendon Clark, 0-86.75-86.75 points.
11. Silvano Alves, 86.5-0-86.50 points.
12. Aaron Roy, 0-86.25-86.25 points.
Jory Markiss, 0-86.25-86.25 points.
14. Jordan Hupp, 85.75-0-85.75 points.
15. Agnaldo Cardozo, 0-85.5-85.50 points.
Cody Nance, 85.5-0-85.50 points.
Fabiano Vieira, 0-85.5-85.50 points.
18. Mike Lee, 0-83.5-83.50 points.
19. Guilherme Marchi, 0-83.25-83.25 points.
Harve Stewart, 0-83.25-83.25 points.
Markus Mariluch, 83.25-0-83.25 points.
Ty Pozzobon, 83.25-0-83.25 points.
23. Luke Snyder, 82.25-0-82.25 points.
24. Austin Meier, 0-61.5-61.50 points.
Ben Jones, 0-0-0 points.
Caleb Sanderson, 0-0-0 points.
Cody Johnson, 0-0-0 points.
Dakota Beck, 0-0-0 points.
Davi Henrique, 0-0-0 points.
Edevaldo Ferreira, 0-0-0 points.
Emilio Resende, 0-0-0 points.
L.J. Jenkins, 0-0-0 points.
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0-0 points.
Nathan Schaper, 0-0-0 points.
Paulo Lima, 0-0-0 points.

Follow Jack Carnefix on Twitter @JackCarnefix.

© 2019 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.