PBR Built Ford Tough Series heads back to Windy City


In This Article

CHICAGO - The Professional Bull Riders will make its way to the Allstate Arena this Saturday and Sunday for the second stop on the Built Ford Tough Series tour.

Fans will witness thrilling 8-second rides and jaw-dropping wrecks throughout the adrenaline-fueled performance, as the Top 35 bull riders in the world risk it all against the best bucking bulls, who can weigh as much as 2,000 pounds.

The Chicago Invitational begins at 8 p.m. on Saturday, and at 2 p.m. on Sunday. Tickets start at $15 and are available at the Allstate Arena box office, www.ticketmaster.com and by telephone at (800) 745-3000. For more information, visit www.pbr.com.

Each of the 35 riders will ride on Saturday and Sunday. Following Round 2 on Sunday, up to 15 riders will advance to the Built Ford Tough Championship Round. The overall event winner will be the rider with the highest combined score from all three rounds, and will earn $30,000 for first place.

The BFTS features the world's best and highest-paid bull riders, including back-to-back PBR World Champion Silvano Alves (2011 and 2012). Alves reached $3 million in earnings in 28 months and 66 events, which is faster than any bull rider in history.

There are five PBR World Champions scheduled to compete in Chicago including Alves, Renato Nunes (2010), Kody Lostroh (2009), Guilherme Marchi (2008) and Mike Lee (2004).

Robson Palermo, who won the season-opening Monster Energy Invitational last weekend at Madison Square Garden in New York, won the Chicago Invitational in 2011.

As the winner of the Monster Energy Invitational, Palermo will attempt bonus bull Mississippi Hippy for the opportunity to win $3,000, immediately following Round 1 on Saturday.

CBS Sports Network will broadcast Round 1 at 10 p.m. ET on Saturday, Jan. 12, and Round 2 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round at 8 p.m. ET on Sunday, Jan. 13.

Chicago is the second of 26 stops in 18 states on the BFTS schedule, which again opened the season with capacity crowds at Madison Square Garden in New York. The season will conclude at the Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Oct. 23-27. The PBR World Champion will receive the coveted Championship buckle and a $1 million bonus and a new pickup truck from Ford, which is also title sponsor of the Built Ford Tough Series.

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network and YouTube. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

2013 Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series Season Standings

(Events, Wins, Top 5 Finishes, Points, Earnings)

1. Silvano Alves, 1, 0, 1, 1068.41, $93,048.82.

2. Aaron Roy, 1, 0, 1, 845.87, $26,331.92.

3. J.B. Mauney, 1, 0, 1, 837.12, $15,388.33.

4. Robson Palermo, 1, 1, 1, 816.50, $35,950.00.

5. Jordan Hupp, 1, 0, 0, 759.37, $17,388.39.

6. Douglas Duncan, 1, 0, 0, 734.62, $14,712.39.

7. Chase Outlaw, 1, 0, 0, 733.37, $13, 032.29.

8. Kody Lostroh, 1, 0, 1, 712.00, $8,837.60.

9. Fabiano Vieira, 1, 0, 0, 588.75, $7,037.00.

10. Troy Wilkinson, 0, 0, 0, 545.87, $18,940.52.

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.