Willingham wins in Oklahoma City

Sean Willingham pumps a fist after covering Rockie Smooth in Round 3. Photo by Andy Watson / BullStockMedia.com


  • Sean Willingham made the most of his first event back on the BFTS since being cut from the tour in March of last year.
  • The bulls went 10-0 in the championship round, led by Bushwacker, the high-marked bull of the event.
  • Agnaldo Cardozo finished second in Oklahoma City, followed by Shane Proctor and J.B. Mauney.
  • CBS Sports Network will broadcast the conclusion of the WinStar World Casino Invitational at 8 p.m. ET on Sunday.

In This Article

OKLAHOMA CITY ― Sean Willingham rode Rockie Smooth (D&H Cattle Company) for 87 points on Sunday to capture the event title at the Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series WinStar World Casino Invitational at Chesapeake Energy Arena.

Competing at his first BFTS event since being cut from the tour last March, Willingham finished with 260.5 points, covering three of four bulls. The veteran bucked off Train Wreck (D&H Cattle Co./Enlow/The Gilberts) in the Built Ford Tough Championship Round, where the bulls went 10-0.

"This week, I drew really great bulls," said Willingham, who qualified for the event as an alternate after winning the Touring Pro Division event in Austin, Texas, last week. "I was happy I was able to stay on all of them until the championship round. I hate that I bucked off the last one, but a win is a win.

"It feels really good to be back. After dropping off the BFTS last year, it was hard to accept what happened. I was gone for almost a year. To come back this weekend and win ― I would say this will probably be my most-memorable win to date."

"I would say this will probably be my most-memorable win to date." 

Making his 2013 debut, Bushwacker (Julio Moreno Bucking Bulls) earned the Pabst Blue Ribbon Bull Award for being the high-marked bull of the event. The 2011 World Champion Bull made quick work of Shane Proctor in the final round, earning 46 out of a possible 50 points. With the effort, Bushwacker now owns the longest buckoff streak in BFTS history at 36.

Agnaldo Cardozo, meanwhile, placed second in Oklahoma City, after putting up 87.5 points on Cowboy Casanova (Mesa Bucking Bulls) to win Round 3. Cardozo totaled 174 points on the weekend, riding two of four bulls. Proctor finished third with 173.25 points, while J.B. Mauney finished fourth with 173 points.

CBS Sports Network will broadcast Round 3 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round at 8 p.m. ET on Sunday.

The PBR will travel to California next weekend for the Sacramento Invitational at Sleep Train Arena. Bull riding begins at 8 p.m. on both Friday and Saturday. Tickets are available at www.Ticketmaster.com and by telephone at (800) 745-3000.

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network and networks around the world. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

Sean Willingham puts up 87 points on Rockie Smooth in Round 3.

The PBR is celebrating 20 years of competition in 2013. PBR broadcasts reach more than half a billion households in 50 nations and territories around the world, and more than 2.5 million fans attend PBR events each year. The PBR has awarded more than $120 million in prize money over 20 years of competition, including a $1 million bonus to the PBR World Champion each year.

Oklahoma City is the fourth of 26 stops in 18 states on the Built Ford Tough Series. The season will conclude at the Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Oct. 23-27, 2013. The PBR World Champion will receive the coveted Championship buckle and a $1 million bonus and a new pickup truck from Ford, the title sponsor of the Built Ford Tough Series.

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
WinStar World Casino Invitational
Chesapeake Energy Arena in Oklahoma City
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Round 4-Total Points)
1. Sean Willingham, 87.5-86-87-0-260.50 points.
2. Agnaldo Cardozo, 86.5-0-87.5-0-174 points.
3. Shane Proctor, 0-87.5-85.75-0-173.25 points.
4. J.B. Mauney, 88-85-0-0-173 points.
5. Ty Pozzobon, 86.25-85.75-0-0-172 points.
6. Brant Atwood, 82.75-88.25-0-0-171 points.
7. Mike Lee, 0-87.25-83.25-0-170.50 points.
8. Guilherme Marchi, 0-85-84-0-169 points.
9. Marco Eguchi, 66.25-79.75-0-0-146 points.
10. Jory Markiss, 89-0-0-0-89 points.
11. Emilio Resende, 88-0-0-0-88 points.
12. Renato Nunes, 87.5-0-0-0-87.50 points.
Stormy Wing, 87.5-0-0-0-87.50 points.
14. Luke Snyder, 0-0-87.25-0-87.25 points.
15. Brendon Clark, 86.5-0-0-0-86.50 points.
16. Lachlan Richardson, 85.25-0-0-0-85.25 points.
Robson Palermo, 0-85.25-0-0-85.25 points.
18. Austin Meier, 84.75-0-0-0-84.75 points.
19. Chase Outlaw, 84.5-0-0-0-84.50 points.
20. Edevaldo Ferreira, 0-0-84.25-0-84.25 points.
21. Joao Ricardo Vieira, 0-83.75-0-0-83.75 points.
22. Cody Nance, 83.5-0-0-0-83.50 points.
23. Harve Stewart, 0-82.75-0-0-82.75 points.
24. Jordan Hupp, 82.25-0-0-0-82.25 points.
25. Ben Jones, 81.75-0-0-0-81.75 points.
26. Nathan Schaper, 0-0-81.5-0-81.50 points.
27. Douglas Duncan, 68.25-0-0-0-68.25 points.
Aaron Roy, 0-0-0-0-0 points.
Billy Robinson, 0-0-0-0-0 points.
Caleb Sanderson, 0-0-0-0-0 points.
Cody Johnson, 0-0-0-0-0 points.
Dakota Beck, 0-0-0-0-0 points.
Jared Farley, 0-0-0-0-0 points.
Ryan Dirteater, 0-0-0-0-0 points.
Silvano Alves, 0-0-0-0-0 points.

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.