Game notes: Kansas City


  • This will be the 11th year and the ninth consecutive time the PBR will hold an event in Kansas City, Mo.
  • There are 900 possible points available in Kansas City.
  • Mike Lee will face Bushwacker for a chance at $57,000.

In This Article

TOPPED 10 -This will be the 11th year and the ninth consecutive time the PBR will hold an event in Kansas City, Mo.  It's the eighth stop on the 2013 Built Ford Tough Series. The Built Ford Tough Invitational takes place at Sprint Center at 8 p.m. on Saturday, February 23, and 2 p.m. on Sunday, Feb. 24.  The 15/15 Bucking Battle round will air on CBS on Sunday, Feb. 24 at 1 p.m. ET. The Built Ford Tough Invitational's Round 2 and championship round will air on CBS Sports Network Sunday evening, Feb. 24 at 8 p.m. ET.

ON DECK -The Built Ford Tough Series will travel to Texas next weekend for the Dickies® Iron Cowboy IV from Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas.  The event takes place at 7 p.m. CT.  It will be broadcast in two parts on CBS and CBS Sports Network. Saturday, March 2, CBS Sports Network will carry the initial rounds at 10 p.m. ET.  The final rounds and $50,000 Monster Energy Money Bull ride will be broadcast at 1 p.m. ET Sunday, March 3.

PAST KANSAS CITY EVENT WINNERS -Winning riders in Kansas City include six former PBR World Champions - Guilherme Marchi (2008), Justin McBride (2005, 2007), Mike Lee (2004), Troy Dunn (1998), Owen Washburn (1996) and Tuff Hedeman (1995).  Here is a complete list of winners in Kansas City:

2012    LJ Jenkins
2011    Caleb Sanderson
2010    Austin Meier
2009    Guilherme Marchi
2008    Guilherme Marchi
2007    Justin McBride
2006    Mike Lee
2005    Guilherme Marchi
2004    Dave Samsel
1997    Troy Dunn
1996    Owen Washburn/Tuff Hedeman       

FORMAT -This weekend, all Top 35 bull riders on the BFTS will compete in Round 1 on Saturday night and Round 2 on Sunday afternoon, each facing one bull each day. After Round 2 on Sunday, the riders with the top 10-15 scores after two rounds will advance to the Built Ford Tough Championship Round for one more ride and a chance at the $30,000 event title. Over the event's 11-year history, the PBR has awarded more than $1 million dollars in prize money in Kansas City.

Following Round 1 on Saturday, the event will feature the sport's best bovine athletes in the 15/15 Bucking Battle. The series' Top 15 bull riders will be randomly matched against the 15 highest-ranked bulls for a special round of action. Airing on CBS Sunday at 1 p.m. ET, the 15/15 Bucking Battle offers a total purse of $21,000. BFTS points earned will be doubled in the 15/15 Bucking Battle and only count toward the overall PBR World Champion's title, not the Kansas City event title.  This is the third 15/15 Bucking Battle this season.

POSSIBLE POINTS  -There are 1000 possible points available in Kansas City, as the winner of the event will receive 400 points, plus 100 points for each round win and 100 possible points for each ride score.

PROVIDING PROTECTION -The Dickies® DuraBullfighters are Jesse Byrne of Okotoks, Alberta; Shorty Gorham of Cotulla, Texas; and Frank Newsom of Paoli, Okla.

TELEVISION BROADCAST -PBR Live Event Center will broadcast Round 1 of the Built Ford Tough Invitational at 9 p.m. ET on Saturday, Feb. 23. CBS will broadcast the PURE PBR 15/15 Bucking Battle Sunday at 1 p.m. ET. The Built Ford Tough Invitational's Round 2 and the championship round will air on Sunday evening at 8 ET on CBS Sports Network.

Sunday's afternoon's CBS broadcast will be a "PURE 15/15" with Craig Hummer, two-time PBR World Champion Justin McBride, J.W. "Ironman" Hart and Dickies® DuraBullfighter Shorty Gorham. This Pure PBR broadcast will provide a new approach, including everything from candid moments between rides to various opportunities for the broadcasters to not only explain, but also visually illustrate whatever point they're trying to make. Expect Hummer, McBride, Hart and Gorham to take viewers inside the world of the PBR, spending one-on-one time with riders before their respective rides and giving viewers a chance to listen in on the one-of-a-kind conversation.

Sunday evening's broadcast will have Hummer providing play-by-play, color commentary provided by McBride, and dirt-level interviews will be handled by Leah Garcia. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR by David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer and creative lead.

BONUS BULL- This week's event will feature aMonster Energy Money Bull.

Monster Energy is sponsoring a Monster Energy Money Bull at nine Built Ford Tough Series events this season. The bonus for successfully riding this bull starts at $6,000. The bonus will continue to increase by $6,000 each time the rider fails to reach 8 seconds on the bull. The Monster Energy Money Bull bonus will also increase each time a rider fails to reach 8 seconds on the weekly bonus bull. In this instance, the bonus bull payout of $3,000 will be added to the Monster Energy Money Bull bonus. 

Seven of the Monster Energy Money Bull matchups will be a randomly-selected bull in the PBR 15/15 Bucking Battles (Jan. 18 at Winston-Salem, N.C.; Feb. 1 at Sacramento, Calif.;Feb. 23 at Kansas City, Mo.; April 6 at Billings, Mont.; April 20 at Des Moines, Iowa; Sept. 20 at Biloxi, Miss.; and Oct. 4 at Fayetteville, N.C.). The remaining two matchups include a randomly-selected bull in the Built Ford Tough Championship Round at the Monster Energy Invitational in New York and the LiftMaster Invitational in Anaheim, Calif. Below is a list of the Monster Energy Money Bull results by event to date:

Event           Bull  Rider  Results  Payout 
New York  BB South Paw  Stormy Wing  Not Ridden  $3,000
New York  BB Quiet Riot  Silvano Alves  Not Ridden $3,000
New York  MEMB Rock & Roll  J.B. Mauney Not Ridden  $12,000
Chicago BB Mississippi Hippy  Robson Palermo Not Ridden  $3,000
Winston-Salem  MEMB Asteroid Guilherme Marchi  Not Ridden  $21,000
Winston-Salem  BB Shepherd Hills Tstd  Jory Markiss Not Ridden  $3,000
Winston-Salem  BB Flint Shane Proctor Not Ridden  $3,000
Sacramento MEMB Asteroid Mike Lee Not Ridden  $33,000 
Anaheim MEMB Asteroid Eduardo Aparecido  Not Ridden  $39.000 
Anaheim BB Mick E Mouse Agnaldo Cardozo  Not Ridden  $3,000
Anaheim BB Sancho Guilherme Marchi Not Ridden $3,000
St. Louis BB Lucky You Ty Pozzobon Not Ridden $3,000
St. Louis BB Porcupine Puncher Shane Proctor Not Ridden $3,000
Kansas City MEMB Bushwacker Mike Lee TBD $57,000

*BB = Bonus Bull; MEMB = Monster Energy Money Bull



© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.