Cowboy vs. Cowboy vs. Bull


  • Match-ups announced for Dickies® Iron Cowboy IV include Asteroid vs. Bushwacker
  • This Saturday is the first time in 2013 that these World Champion bulls will meet.

In This Article

ARLINGTON, Texas - The contenders have been selected and the match-ups have been made.

In just three days, the world's Top 24 PBR Built Ford Tough Series bull riders will meet in a head-to-head battle, riding the 24 fiercest bulls on the planet in an attempt to be declared the next Iron Cowboy. Saturday, March 2, the PBR's Dickies® Iron Cowboy IV Presented by Winstar World Casino bucks into Cowboys Stadium.

The only single elimination format event on the PBR's 2013 Built Ford Tough Series, the Dickies® Iron Cowboy IV pits the top riders against each other in an 8-Second duel as they ride the series' best bulls.

The field includes three PBR World Champions: Silvano Alves (2012, 2011), Guilherme Marchi (2008) and Mike Lee (2004); three-time PBR World Finals event winner Robson Palermo; reigning Iron Cowboy Champion J.B. Mauney; and current No. 1 PBR bull rider Shane Proctor. The matchups for the event are as follows:

The rider earning the highest score in each matchup will receive $1,000 and advance to the next level. If neither rider makes a successful 8-second ride, the rider making the longest ride will continue.

Not only will the riders have to potentially make four rides in one night, they'll have to face a rank pen of world class bulls and PBR World Champions including Bushwacker (Julio Moreno Bucking Bulls) and Asteroid (Circle T Ranch and Rodeo).

Bushwacker is the 2011 PBR World Champion Bull. He boasts the longest buckoff streak in PBR history, having dumped the last 38 BFTS riders who have attempted to ride him. Not since 2009, when Thiago Paguioto covered him for 89.75 points in Las Vegas, has a rider managed this bull. Last weekend in Kansas City Bushwacker produced the highest bull score of the year, earning 48 out of 50 points, and matched his all-time personal best result.

The reigning PBR World Champion Bull Asteroid has a perfect record in 2013. He has bucked off two former world champions this year, Marchi and Lee, and made short work of the current No. 3 man in the PBR World Standings, Marco Eguchi. He had the three highest and 10 of the top 20 bulls scores in 2012, producing a 16-1 record on his way to the 2012 championship title.

This Saturday is the first time in 2013 that these World Champion bulls will meet. They will go head-to-head in the final round where the last two bull riders will faceoff to determine who will be the Iron Cowboy.

The Dickies® Iron Cowboy IV will receive $50,000 and the opportunity to double his money by riding Monster Energy Money Bull Shepherd Hills Tested (Luthy/Duckwall/D&H Cattle/Shepherd) in the bonus round. A contender for the 2013 PBR World Champion Bull title, Shepherd Hills Tested is a Top-10 bull with a 94.44 percent career buckoff rate. He is also unridden in 2013.

Tickets for the Dickies® Iron Cowboy IV are available online now at or by calling (800) 745-3000. They range in price from $20 to $150 and include not only two hours of fierce battles between the world's best bull riders and the country's rankest bulls, but also all of the activities surrounding this one-day-only event. The bucking begins at 8 p.m. Doors open at 5:30 p.m.

The Dickies® Iron Cowboy IV will be broadcast in two segments, starting Saturday, March 2, at 10 p.m. ET on CBS Sports Network and finishing on Sunday, March 3, on CBS at 1 p.m. ET.

Arlington is the ninth stop of 26 across 18 states on the 2013 Built Ford Tough Series. The season culminates at the PBR Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas, October 23-27, at UNLV's Thomas & Mack Center when the series' best bull riders compete for the ultimate prize, the PBR World Champion's title, a $1 million bonus, a new Ford truck from the series' title sponsor and the coveted PBR World Champion buckle.

The PBR is celebrating 20 years of competition in 2013. Its Built Ford Tough Series is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network and networks around the world. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.