Capacity Show Me State crowd cheers Missouri native Snyder to a 15/15 win

Luke Snyder puts up 91.5 points aboard King Lopez. Photo by Andy Watson /


  • Missouri native Luke Snyder earned 91.5 points aboard King Lopez to win the 15/15 Bucking Battle in Kansas City.
  • During the Bucking Battle, 2011 World Champion Bull Bushwacker earned a score of 48, the highest bull score of 2013.
  • Neither Shane Proctor, nor Silvano Alves covered a bull in Round 1, as Proctor maintained a 53-point lead in the world standings.

In This Article

KANSAS CITY, Mo. ― A capacity Sprint Center crowd was treated to a hometown victory when Raymore, Missouri's Luke Snyder earned 91.5 points aboard King Lopez (K-C Bucking Bulls) to win the 15/15 Bucking Battle.

Snyder was the only PBR rider to make a qualified ride during the battle and did so aboard a bull he had failed to ride twice before. His 91.5 score is the highest recorded since the Winston-Salem, N.C., Built Ford Tough Series event earlier this year.

"I felt awesome," Snyder said. "All these years I've come to Kansas City and done OK, so to give all of my friends and family something like that is just a good feeling."

The 15/15 Bucking Battle spelled victory for World Champion Bull Bushwacker, as well. Earning 48 points, the highest bull score of the 2013 Built Ford Tough Series season, Bushwacker dumped Mike Lee after three jumps and kept alive the longest buckoff streak in PBR history at 38.

"I think he's about as good as one can get, but you never know."

The score tied Bushwacker's all-time best performance. He received 48 points during the 2011 World Finals on his way to becoming the 2011 World Champion Bull.

"I don't know if you can ask one to be much better," said Kent Cox, who handles and hauls Bushwacker for Julio Moreno and Richard Oliveira. "I think he's about as good as one can get, but you never know. I'm sure not going to ask him for much more than he's giving us right now. I think he is in his prime."

Bushwacker was the Monster Energy Money Bull tonight, carrying a bonus of $57,000 for a successful ride. With the buckoff, the Monster Energy Money Bull bonus will now be $63,000. The Built Ford Tough Invitational continues Sunday afternoon when each of the Top 35 riders ride again during Round 2, beginning at 2 p.m. Round 2 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round will air on CBS Sports Network tomorrow night at 8 p.m. ET.

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network and networks around the world. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

The PBR is celebrating 20 years of competition in 2013. PBR broadcasts reach more than half a billion households in 50 nations and territories around the world, and more than 2.5 million fans attend PBR events each year. The PBR has awarded more than $120 million dollars in prize money over 20 years of competition, including a $1 million bonus to the PBR World Champion each year.

Kansas City is the eighth of 26 stops in 18 states that the BFTS will make in 2013. The season will conclude at the PBR Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Oct. 23-27, 2013. The PBR World Champion will receive the coveted championship buckle and a $1 million bonus, as well as a new pickup truck from Ford, the title sponsor of the Built Ford Tough Series.

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.