Lostroh and Cardozo split 15/15 Bucking Battle victory

Kody Lostroh scores 89.75 points on Meat Hook. Photo by Andy Watson / BullStockMedia.com.


  • Agnaldo Cardozo and Kody Lostroh tied for the win in the second 15/15 Bucking Battle of the season.
  • CBS will broadcast the 15/15 Bucking Battle Saturday at 1 p.m. ET.
  • Asteroid defeated Mike Lee in 3.4 seconds.

In This Article

SACRAMENTO, Calif. ― Kody Lostroh, the 2009 World Champion, and Brazilian Agnaldo Cardozo each posted 89.75 points to tie for the win in the second PBR 15/15 Bucking Battle of the season on Friday night at Sleep Train Arena.

CBS will broadcast the 15/15 Bucking Battle in its entirety at 1 p.m. ET on Saturday, and CBS Sports Network will reair the battle at 5:00 p.m. ET on Monday (please check local listings).

Cardozo outlasted World Champion Bull contender Buckey (Wentz Bucking Bulls), while Lostroh defeated Meat Hook (Jeff Robinson/Bar 3D Bucking Bull) two rides later. Lostroh returned to action in Sacramento after missing last week's event because of an injured thumb on his riding hand.

The top riders in the world squared off against the 15 highest-ranked bulls in the Sacramento battle. Despite dislocating his left shoulder when he hit the ground in Round 1, Robson Palermo returned to grit out an impressive 82.25 points on High Octane Hurricane (West Coast Bucking Bulls) in the 15/15 Bucking Battle. The same shoulder caused him to miss the first bucking battle of the season in Winston-Salem, N.C.

Last week's event winner, Sean Willingham, who catapulted himself into the Top 10 in the world standings, put up 87.25 points on Shepherd Hills Trapper (Circle T Ranch & Rodeo), while Jordan Hupp, also a Top-10 rider, endured Class 6 Kat (Julio Moreno Bucking Bulls) for 84.75 points.

The final matchup featured a face-off between 2004 World Champion Mike Lee and 2012 World Champion Bull Asteroid (Circle T Ranch & Rodeo). Asteroid was the Monster Energy Money Bull and he handled Lee with ease in 3.4 seconds. The former world champ would have earned a $33,000 bonus with a successful ride.

Asteroid takes care of Mike Lee in 3.4 seconds.

Built Ford Tough Series points are doubled in the 15/15 Bucking Battle, with the winner receiving 200 points and second place receiving 180 points, continuing on a graduated scale to 20 points for 10th place. The rider also receives his ride score (1-100 points), which means that 300 points are possible for the winner. Points earned in the 15/15 will count toward the season standings and qualification for the PBR Built Ford Tough World Finals. If a rider fails to make a qualified ride, he does not receive any points or money. Points earned in the special round do not count toward the results of the BFTS event.

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network and networks around the world. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

PBR 15/15 Bucking Battle
Sleep Train Arena in Sacramento, Calif.
1. Agnaldo Cardozo, 89.75 points.
Kody Lostroh, 89.75 points.
3. Sean Willingham, 87.25 points.
4. Jordan Hupp, 84.75 points.
5. Robson Palermo, 82.25 points.

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.