Mauney’s sights set on first win of season

J.B. Mauney puts up 86.5 points on Whirlwind in Round 1. Photo by Andy Watson /


  • J.B. Mauney jumped out to the early lead in Sacramento, Calif., with 86.5 points on Whirlwind.
  • Veterans Jordan Hupp, Billy Robinson and Guilherme Marchi are tied for second with 85 points.
  • The 15/15 Bucking Battle will air Saturday on CBS at 1 p.m. ET.

In This Article

SACRAMENTO, Calif. ― J.B. Mauney, the No. 3 rider in the world, jumped out to the early lead on Friday at the Built Ford Tough Series Sacramento Invitational, covering Whirlwind (Diamond G Rodeos, Inc.) for 86.5 points in Round 1 at Sleep Train Arena.

Mauney, who has ridden eight of the 15 bulls he has attempted this season, is looking to surpass back-to-back World Champion and current world leader Silvano Alves in the standings. The North Carolina native is currently 456.66 points behind Alves, who covered his Round 1 bull for 78.75 points.

Three veterans are tied for second in Sacramento, as Jordan Hupp, Billy Robinson and 2008 World Champion Guilherme Marchi each put up 85 points in the first round. Hupp rode Ronnie Rooster (Danny Reagan Bucking Bulls), Robinson took on Red Carpet (K&K Cattle Company), while Marchi finished off Hammer Head (Ferguson Ranch). Brendon Clark sits in fifth after receiving a re-ride and then dominating Slim's Ghost for 84.75 points.

Despite a round in which the riders were beaten and battered by rank and rowdy bulls, the cowboys earned a combined 17 qualified rides.

It was a rough night for Dickies DuraBullfigher Frank Newsom, who took hard hit before getting run over by Maverick. Newsom suffered a concussion and a laceration above his eye, but is expected to be back in the arena for Round 2 on Saturday.

Round 2 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round will begin at 8:00 p.m. on Saturday. Tickets are available at and by telephone at (800) 745-3000. Each of the 35 riders will ride on Saturday. Following Round 2, up to 15 riders will advance to the championship round.

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network and networks around the world. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

The PBR is celebrating 20 years of competition in 2013. PBR broadcasts reach more than half a billion households in 50 nations and territories around the world, and more than 2.5 million fans attend PBR events each year. The PBR has awarded more than $120 million dollars in prize money over 20 years of competition, including a $1 million bonus to the PBR World Champion each year.

Sacramento is the fifth of 26 stops in 18 states that the BFTS will make in 2013. The season will conclude at the Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Oct. 23-27, 2013. The PBR World Champion will receive the coveted Championship buckle and a $1 million bonus, as well as a new pickup truck from Ford, the title sponsor of the Built Ford Tough Series.

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
Sacramento Invitational
Sleep Train Arena in Sacramento, Calif.
Event Leaders (Round 1-Total Points)
1. J.B. Mauney, 86.5-86.50 points.
2. Billy Robinson, 85-85 points.
Guilherme Marchi, 85-85 points.
Jordan Hupp, 85-85 points.
5. Brendon Clark, 84.75-84.75 points.
6. Aaron Roy, 83.75-83.75 points.
7. Douglas Duncan, 83-83 points.
Edevaldo Ferreira, 83-83 points.
9. Sean Willingham, 82.5-82.50 points.
10. Robson Palermo, 82-82 points.
11. Shane Proctor, 81.75-81.75 points.
12. Ryan Dirteater, 81.5-81.50 points.
13. L.J. Jenkins, 81-81 points.
14. Mike Lee, 80.25-80.25 points.
15. Silvano Alves, 78.75-78.75 points.
16. Marco Eguchi, 74-74 points.
17. Caleb Sanderson, 72-72 points.
Agnaldo Cardozo, 0-0 points.
Austin Meier, 0-0 points.
Ben Jones, 0-0 points.
Chase Outlaw, 0-0 points.
Cody Nance, 0-0 points.
Emilio Resende, 0-0 points.
Harve Stewart, 0-0 points.
Jory Markiss, 0-0 points.
Josh Faircloth, 0-0 points.
Kody Lostroh, 0-0 points.
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0 points.
Luke Snyder, 0-0 points.
Mick Ford, 0-0 points.
Nathan Schaper, 0-0 points.
Renato Nunes, 0-0 points.
Stormy Wing, 0-0 points.
Troy Wilkinson, 0-0 points.
Ty Pozzobon, 0-0 points.

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.