No. 1 up for grabs in Anaheim

Shane Proctor puts up 87.75 points on Keepin It Real. Photo by Andy Watson /


  • Shane Proctor posted an 87.75-point ride aboard Keepin It Real to tie for the Round 2 win.
  • Proctor is seeking his second win of the year in Anaheim, Calif.
  • Jory Markiss tied Proctor for the Round 2 win with 87.75 points aboard Ransom.

In This Article

ANAHEIM, Calif. ― With an 87.75-point ride on Keepin It Real (Circle T Ranch & Rodeo), Shane Proctor (Mooresville, N.C.) tied for the Round 2 win before a capicity crowd of 12,000 at the Built Ford Tough Series LiftMaster Invitational. Proctor, also the event leader, has slashed the nearly 500-point lead reigning PBR World Champion Silvano Alves (Pilar do Sul, Brazil) held in the World Championship race, and positioned himself to claim the number-one spot with a win in Anaheim.

Proctor captured his fourth-career BFTS win earlier this season at the Winston-Salem Invitational, competing as an event alternate. If he wins Sunday in Anaheim, the points would put him in first place in the world standings. It would be the first time since August 2012 that a rider other than Alves has held the top position.

Proctor said he remains focused. "I don't think about becoming number one," he said. "Staying on my bull is what's on my mind.

"I knew I had a really good draw tonight. We're just going to have to see how it all works out tomorrow."

Alves responded to Proctor's advance with an 81.25-point score aboard Filmore Trouble (Crown 7 Bucking Bulls) ― valuable points that will help him protect his lead at the top of the standings.

Jory Markiss (Longmont, Colo.) tied Proctor for the Round 2 win, covering Cindy Rosser/Flying U Livestock's Ransom for 87.75 points. With 86.50 points, 2009 PBR World Champion Kody Lostroh (Longmont, Colo.) took third with his ride on Maximum Justice (Jeff Robinson Bucking Bulls).

For his seventh consecutive ride in competition, Guilherme Marchi (Leme, Brazil) racked up 84 points on Jeff Robinson/Bar 3D Bucking Bulls' Ball Peen, continuing his return to competitive form. As the event winner in Sacramento, Calif., Marchi was eligible to ride the evening's bonus bull, Sancho (Circle T/ 3B Bucking Bulls) for $3,000. Nearly five seconds into the ride, Marchi hit the dirt.

With Marchi's buckoff, the bonus bull money will now be added to the Monster Energy Money Bull bounty. The rider who selects reigning PBR World Champion Bull Asteroid in the Built Ford Tough Championship Round on Sunday afternoon will have a chance to pocket $45,000.

"I don't think about becoming number one. Staying on my bull is what's on my mind."

Round 3 of the LiftMaster Invitational takes place Sunday afternoon at 2 p.m. PT, featuring the Top 35 riders facing one additional bull. The Top 10-to-15 riders after three days of competition will then advance to compete in the championship round for the title. Tickets for Sunday's competition are available at and by telephone at (800) 745-3000.

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network and networks around the world. CBS Sports Network will broadcast Round 3 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round at 8 p.m. ET on Sunday. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

Anaheim is the sixth of 26 stops in 18 states that the BFTS will make in 2013. The season will conclude at the PBR Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Oct. 23-27, 2013. The PBR World Champion will receive the coveted championship buckle and a $1 million bonus, as well as a new pickup truck from Ford, the title sponsor of the Built Ford Tough Series.

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
LiftMaster Invitational
Honda Center in Anaheim, Calif.
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Total Points)
1. Shane Proctor, 85.75-87.75-173.50 points.
2. Luke Snyder, 86.75-86-172.75 points.
3. Agnaldo Cardozo, 89-81.25-170.25 points.
4. Joao Ricardo Vieira, 86.5-82.5-169.00 points.
5. Guilherme Marchi, 84.25-84-168.25 points.
6. Ben Jones, 86.25-81.5-167.75 points.
7. Ty Pozzobon, 81.75-82-163.75 points.
8. Renato Nunes, 88.5-0-88.50 points.
9. Jory Markiss, 0-87.75-87.75 points.
10. Brendon Clark, 87.5-0-87.50 points.
Reese Cates, 87.5-0-87.50 points.
12. Aaron Roy, 86.75-0-86.75 points.
Douglas Duncan, 86.75-0-86.75 points.
14. Kody Lostroh, 0-86.5-86.50 points.
15. Zack Brown, 0-86.25-86.25 points.
16. Billy Robinson, 0-86-86.00 points.
17. Chase Outlaw, 85.75-0-85.75 points.
18. L.J. Jenkins, 85.5-0-85.50 points.
19. Edevaldo Ferreira, 84.75-0-84.75 points.
20. Matt Triplett, 84.5-0-84.50 points.
21. Marco Eguchi, 0-82.75-82.75 points.
Nathan Schaper, 0-82.75-82.75 points.
23. Jared Farley, 81.75-0-81.75 points.
24. Cody Nance, 0-81.5-81.50 points.
25. Silvano Alves, 0-81.25-81.25 points.
26. Jordan Hupp, 0-80.75-80.75 points.
27. Eduardo Aparecido, 0-80.5-80.50 points.
Brant Atwood, 0-0-0.00 points.
Emilio Resende, 0-0-0.00 points.
J.B. Mauney, 0-0-0.00 points.
Jason Malone, 0-0-0.00 points.
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0-0.00 points.
Mike Lee, 0-0-0.00 points.
Sean Willingham, 0-0-0.00 points.
Troy Wilkinson, 0-0-0.00 points.

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.