Canadian young gun takes Round 1 in St. Louis

Ty Pozzobon takes the Round 1 win in St. Louis. Photo by Andy Watson /


  • Ty Pozzobon took Round 1 in St. Louis on Friday night after riding Prince Albert for 89 points.
  • Zack Brown took second in the round. In his second event back on the Built Ford Tough Series, Brown covered Magic Time (Western Rodeos, Inc.) for 88 points.

In This Article

ST. LOUIS ― Coming off a third place finish in Anaheim, Calif., last week, Ty Pozzobon took Round 1 in St. Louis on Friday night after riding Prince Albert (Dakota Rodeo/Berger/Struve) for 89 points during the Cooper Tires Presents:Kawasaki Invitational at the Scottrade Center.

With the round win, Pozzobon was given the chance to ride the bonus bull Lucky You (Cox Bucking Bulls). Just 2.8 seconds after the chute gates opened, the ride was over. The $3,000 bonus will now be added to the Monster Energy Money Bull bonus, increasing the pot to $54,000 for a qualified ride next weekend in Kansas City, Mo.

The 21-year-old Canadian was happy with his Round 1 performance, but seemed to dwell on his inability to cover the bonus bull.

"It was a better start than a finish for me," Pozzobon said, "but I feel great."

A veteran who escaped death after being stepped on in the midsection in 2005, Zack Brown proudly took second in the round. In his second event back on the Built Ford Tough Series, Brown covered Magic Time (Western Rodeos, Inc.) for 88 points.

Last year's runner up in the Rookie of the Year race, Chase Outlaw, sits third after Round 1. Outlaw, who won his first and only event last season, took on Stinger (K-C Bucking Bulls/Folds/Strickland/Spark-Lin Acres) for 87 points.

Bushwacker (Julio Moreno Bucking Bulls), the 2011 World Champion Bull, is slated to return to action Sunday in the Built Ford Tough Championship Round. A top contender for this year's world title, Bushwacker has bucked only once this year, dumping current world leader Shane Proctor in Oklahoma City.

The Kawasaki Invitational continues Saturday evening when each of the Top 35 riders ride again during Round 2, beginning at 8 p.m. CBS Sports Network will broadcast Round 2 live at 10 p.m. ET; Round 3 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round will air at 8 p.m. ET on Sunday.

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network and networks around the world. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

The PBR is celebrating 20 years of competition in 2013. PBR broadcasts reach more than half a billion households in 50 nations and territories around the world, and more than 2.5 million fans attend PBR events each year. The PBR has awarded more than $120 million dollars in prize money over 20 years of competition, including a $1 million bonus to the PBR World Champion each year.\

"It was a better start than a finish for me, but I feel great."

St. Louis is the seventh of 26 stops in 18 states that the BFTS will make in 2013. The season will conclude at the PBR Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Oct. 23-27, 2013. The PBR World Champion will receive the coveted championship buckle and a $1 million bonus, as well as a new pickup truck from Ford, the title sponsor of the Built Ford Tough Series.

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
Kawasaki Invitational
Scottrade Center at St. Louis
Event Leaders (Round 1-Total Points)
1. Ty Pozzobon, 89-89 points.
2. Zack Brown, 88-88 points.
3. Chase Outlaw, 87-87 points.
4. Aaron Roy, 86.75-86.75 points.
Shane Proctor, 86.75-86.75 points.
6. Marco Eguchi, 86.5-86.50 points.
7. Reese Cates, 86.25-86.25 points.
8. Brendon Clark, 85.25-85.25 points.
9. Renato Nunes, 84.75-84.75 points.
10. Brant Atwood, 84.5-84.50 points.
Jordan Hupp, 84.5-84.50 points.
12. Agnaldo Cardozo, 84.25-84.25 points.
Edevaldo Ferreira, 84.25-84.25 points.
14. Joao Ricardo Vieira, 83.75-83.75 points.
15. Eduardo Aparecido, 83.25-83.25 points.
Fabiano Vieira, 83.25-83.25 points.
17. Guilherme Marchi, 82.75-82.75 points.
18. Jared Farley, 82.25-82.25 points.
Nathan Schaper, 82.25-82.25 points.
20. Silvano Alves, 82-82 points.
Ben Jones, 0-0 points.
Billy Robinson, 0-0 points.
Cody Nance, 0-0 points.
Douglas Duncan, 0-0 points.
Emilio Resende, 0-0 points.
Harve Stewart, 0-0 points.
Jarrod Craig, 0-0 points.
Jory Markiss, 0-0 points.
L.J. Jenkins, 0-0 points.
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0 points.
Luke Snyder, 0-0 points.
Mike Lee, 0-0 points.
Sean Willingham, 0-0 points.
Valdiron de Oliveira, 0-0 points.
Wesley Lourenco, 0-0 points.

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.