Dr Pepper Iron Cowboy V matchups announced

Iron Cowboy is a single-elimination event pitting 24 riders against each other. Photo by Andy Watson / BullStockMedia.com.


  • The matchups for Iron Cowboy V have been officially set.
  • Iron Cowboy V pits 24 of the PBR's top riders in the organization's only single-elimination format event.
  • The event takes place on March 1 and begins at 6 p.m. with a pre-event concert from country music star Justin Moore.

In This Article

ARLINGTON, Texas ― The matchups for the highly-anticipated Dr Pepper Iron Cowboy V have been made.

On Saturday, March 1, at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas, Iron Cowboy V, the only single-elimination format event on the Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series, takes places pitting 24 of the PBR’s top riders against each other in 8-second duels as they ride the series’ best bulls for a winner’s purse of $50,000 and a shot at the Bad Boy Mowers Million Dollar Ride.

This BFTS event pits the riders against each other in a head-to-head format with the objective of either achieving the highest-scored qualified ride in the matchup or staying on the bull the longest to advance.   

In addition to reigning PBR World Champion and 2012 Iron Cowboy J.B. Mauney competing in the event, this year’s field includes three other PBR World Champions: Silvano Alves (2012, 2011), Guilherme Marchi (2008) and Mike Lee (2004); three-time PBR World Finals event winner Robson Palermo; 2010 Iron Cowboy champion Valdiron de Oliveira; last year’s reserve Iron Cowboy L.J. Jenkins; and young guns Chase Outlaw, Stormy Wing, Matt Triplett and Reese Cates.


For every qualified 8-second ride the cowboy will receive $1,000.  The rider with the highest score in the matchup will advance to the next level. If neither rider makes a successful 8-second ride, the rider that stays on his respective bull the longest will continue.

On his way to being named the Iron Cowboy, the winner could potentially face five of the PBR’s rankest bulls before being declared the champion and receiving the opportunity to take on two-time reigning PBR World Champion Bull Bushwacker in the Bad Boy Mowers Million Dollar ride. Arguably the greatest bull in PBR history, Bushwacker will be making his only appearance in Texas at the Iron Cowboy on Saturday night. Of the men competing in the event, nearly half have attempted Bushwacker in their careers and only Mauney has been successful against him.

The event starts at 5:50 p.m. with a concert by county music star Justin Moore. The bull riding action begins at 7 p.m. Tickets, which include the pre-event concert, range in price from $20 to $150 and can be purchased at the AT&T Stadium Box Office, all Ticketmaster locations, ticketmaster.com or by calling (800) 745-3000.

The preliminary rounds of Iron Cowboy V will air live on CBS Sports Network at 8 p.m. ET Saturday, March 1, with the final rounds and the Million Dollar Ride airing on CBS Network Television on Sunday, March 2, at 1 p.m. ET.

Arlington is the ninth of 27 stops on the 2014 PBR Built Ford Tough Series schedule, and one of only 18 cities to host the series before the PBR takes its summer break in May. It’s the only stop the elite BFTS will make in Texas in 2014.

The season will conclude at the PBR Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Oct. 22-26. The 2014 PBR World Champion, the bull rider who earns the most points during the 2014 season, will receive the coveted World Championship belt buckle and a $1 million bonus while in Vegas. For more information, please visit www.pbr.com.

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.