Bolton wins Round 1 in Tucson

Bonner Bolton rides Painkiller for 87.5 points. Photo by Andy Watson /


  • Bonner Bolton won Round 1 in Tucson, Arizona, on Friday night with an 87.5-point ride on Painkiller.
  • Bolton was returning to competition after sustaining a fractured right clavicle in Biloxi, Mississippi.
  • Stormy Wing, Alexandre Cardozo, Cooper Davis and Renato Nunes rounded out the Top 5.

In This Article

TUCSON, Ariz. – In his first Built Ford Tough Series (BFTS) event back from injury, Bonner Bolton came out on top in Round 1 of the PBR’s (Professional Bull Riders) Cooper Tires Take the Money and Ride, presented by Jack Daniel’s, event at the Tucson Convention Center on Friday night.

Bolton posted 87.5 points on Painkiller (JR & Amy West McKinney/The Jaynes Gang) to win the round and earn 100 points toward the 2015 PBR world standings. The 28-year-old missed six events after sustaining a right clavicle fracture in Round 1 in Biloxi, Mississippi, earlier this season.

“I just feel extremely blessed right now to even be here and to be back riding with all my friends that have been motivating me and inspiring me while I’ve been sitting out,” Bolton said.

Stormy Wing placed second in the round with his 87-point effort on Mortimer (Julio Moreno Bucking Bulls) to receive 60 world points.

Alexandre Cardozo and rookie Cooper Davis split third place with 86.75 points apiece. Cardozo covered Boo-Ray (Julio Moreno Bucking Bulls/Fournier), while Davis rode Woody (Julio Moreno Bucking Bulls). Both earned 45 points towards the world standings.

In honor of the PBR Pink Promise campaign to raise money for the Breast Cancer Research Foundation (BCRF), Friday night at each of the last three BFTS events has been Wrangler Tough Enough to Wear Pink Night, featuring the $5,000 Breast Cancer Bounty Bull.

Woody was the Breast Cancer Bounty Bull in Tucson. For his qualified ride, Davis and the BCRF received $2,500 each.  

For more information on the PBR’s Pink Promise, or to donate money to the BCRF in support of the PBR’s campaign, visit

2010 PBR World Champion Renato Nunes rounded out the Top 5 of Round 1 with 86.25 points on Flab Slab (Skippy & Linda Johnston/The Jaynes Gang) for 30 world points.

Round 2 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round of the Cooper Tires Take the Money and Ride event takes place Saturday, Oct. 3, at 7 p.m. PT. The Built Ford Tough Championship Round will be televised on CBS Television Network at 3 p.m. ET on Sunday, Oct. 4, while CBS Sports Network will broadcast Round 2 and the championship round on Sunday, at 8 p.m. ET. 

Fans can also watch each round of competition live on PBR LIVE via PBR LIVE is now available at no charge to all fans and media and can be found by visiting

Tucson is the 26th stop on the 2015 Built Ford Tough Series. The season will culminate with the PBR Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Oct. 21-25 at the Thomas & Mack Center when the 2015 PBR World Champion, the bull rider who earns the most points during the 2015 season, will receive the coveted World Championship belt buckle and a $1 million bonus.  Tickets for the PBR World Finals are on sale now and can be purchased at

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network – the home of the PBR - and networks around the world. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

2015 Professional Bull Riders – Cooper Tires Take the Money and Ride
Tucson, Ariz. – Tucson Convention Center
Event Leaders (Round 1-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Bonner Bolton, 87.5-87.50-100 Points.
2. Stormy Wing, 87-87-60 Points.
3. Cooper Davis, 86.75-86.75-45 Points.
(tie). Alexandre Cardozo, 86.75-86.75-45 Points.
5. Renato Nunes, 86.25-86.25-30 Points.
6. J.B. Mauney, 85.25-85.25
(tie). Gage Gay, 85.25-85.25
8. Aaron Roy, 84.75-84.75
9. J.W. Harris, 83.5-83.50
10. Cody Nance, 82.75-82.75
11. Kaique Pacheco, 82.5-82.50
12. Reese Cates, 82-82
13. Valdiron de Oliveira, 81.5-81.50
14. Mike Lee, 81.25-81.25
15. Wallace Vieira de Oliveira, 74.5-74.50
16. Mason Lowe, 68.75-68.75
17. Ryan Dirteater, 66.25-66.25
Joao Ricardo Vieira, 0-0
Matt Triplett, 0-0
Fabiano Vieira, 0-0
Stetson Lawrence, 0-0
Shane Proctor, 0-0
Eduardo Aparecido, 0-0
Ben Jones, 0-0
Robson Aragao, 0-0
Rubens Barbosa, 0-0
Kasey Hayes, 0-0
Brady Sims, 0-0
Robson Palermo, 0-0
Douglas Duncan, 0-0
Michael Lane, 0-0
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0
Dave Mason, 0-0
Luis Blanco, 0-0
Tyler Harr, 0-0
Neil Holmes, 0-0

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.