Vieira wins Iron Cowboy

Joao Ricardo Vieira rides Crack The Whip for 88.5 points to win Iron Cowboy. Photo by Andy Watson /


  • Joao Ricardo Vieira won Iron Cowboy for the second consecutive year on Saturday night.
  • Vieira capped his 3-for-3 performance by riding Crack The Whip for 88.5 points.
  • Jared Allen's Air Time posted the highest bull score of the event with 46.75 points.

In This Article

ARLINGTON, Texas – Despite the ice storm that brought Dallas to a halt Saturday, nearly 30,000 fans at AT&T Stadium watched Joao Ricardo Vieira earn his second consecutive Iron Cowboy title during the Professional Bull Riders (PBR) Choctaw Casino Resort Iron Cowboy, powered by Kawasaki Strong, part of the elite Built Ford Tough Series (BFTS).

Vieira went 3-for-3 on the night, being the only rider to cover his bull in the third round. His 88.5-point ride on Crack The Whip (J.A.R.S. Bucking Bulls/Gene Owen) sealed his victory and won him more than $194,000.

As the first of four PBR Majors, Iron Cowboy offered increased prize money with a total purse of $250,000 and increased PBR world points at 1 ½ times.

The 2013 PBR Rookie of the Year earned 900 event points with the win, launching him into the Top 10 of the PBR world standings where he sits at No. 5. With his second Iron Cowboy title, Vieira has earned almost $250,000 inside AT&T Stadium.

North Dakota native Stetson Lawrence earned a second-place finish with a total of 168.75 points. He first earned 93.75 event points with a tie for first place in Round 1 and later earned an additional 75 event points for placing third in Round 2. Lawrence lasted just 2.57 seconds atop Lane’s Magic Train (Jared Allen’s Pro Bull Team) during his final out of the night in Round 3.

Jared Allen’s Pro Bull Team rider Tanner Byrne was the only additional rider to make it to the final round of competition, placing sixth overall in the event with 90 event points from his second-place finish in Round 2. Byrne was bucked off of Boot Jack (Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger/Jerry Brown) in 1.82 seconds in the final round to end his night.

Jared Allen’s Air Time earned the Salem Nationalease High-marked Bull award in Arlington with a bull score of 46.75 points out of 50 by tossing veteran bull rider Kasey Hayes in 4.21 seconds.

Although Air Time surpassed him, Asteroid (Circle T Ranch & Rodeo) posted the second-highest bull score of the event with 46 points in his last out on the BFTS. The 2012 World Champion Bull, who unseeded the three-time PBR World Champion Bull Bushwacker to earn his title, totaled 49 buckoffs in 53 outs he made during his BFTS career.

CBS Television Network will broadcast the final two rounds of competition on Sunday, March 1, at 1 p.m. ET.

The Choctaw Casino Resort Iron Cowboy powered by Kawasaki Strong was the ninth of 27 stops on the 2015 PBR Built Ford Tough Series schedule. The 19-state tour will culminate with the PBR Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Oct. 21-25 when the 2015 PBR World Champion, the bull rider who earns the most PBR world points during the 2015 season, will be crowned and receive the coveted $10,000 World Championship belt buckle and $1 million bonus.

Next on the 2015 BFTS is a stop in California at the Save Mart Center in Fresno on March 7-8 for the Fresno Invitational. The event takes place at 7 p.m. PT on Saturday, March 7 and 2 p.m. PT on Sunday, March 8. It will be televised on CBS Sports Network at 8 p.m. ET on Sunday.

Professional Bull Riders – Choctaw Casino Resort Iron Cowboy powered by Kawasaki Strong
Arlington – AT&T Stadium
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Joao Ricardo Vieira, 85.5-90.5-88.5-264.50-900 Points.
2. Stetson Lawrence, 87.5-85-0-172.50-168.75 Points.
3. L.J. Jenkins, 87.5-87.50-93.75 Points.
(tie). Douglas Duncan, 87.5-87.50-93.75 Points.
(tie). Rubens Barbosa, 87.5-87.50-93.75 Points.
6. Tanner Byrne, 84.25-86.75-0-171-90 Points.
7. J.W. Harris, 86.75-86.75-22.5 Points.
(tie). Nathan Schaper, 86.75-86.75-22.5 Points.
9. Eduardo Aparecido, 86.5-86.50
(tie). Bryan Titman, 86.5-86.50
11. Lachlan Richardson, 86-86
12. Mike Lee, 85.75-85.75
13. Kasey Hayes, 84.75-84.75
14. Silvano Alves, 83.75-83.75
15. Guilherme Marchi, 83-83
16. J.B. Mauney, 81.75-81.75
Matt Triplett, 0-0
Reese Cates, 0-0
Kaique Pacheco, 0-0
Valdiron de Oliveira, 0-0
Shane Proctor, 0-0
Ben Jones, 0-0
Cody Nance, 0-0
Ryan Dirteater, 0-0
Fabiano Vieira, 0-0
Dave Mason, 0-0
Renato Nunes, 0-0
Stormy Wing, 0-0
Bonner Bolton, 0-0
Sean Willingham, 0-0
Brady Sims, 0-0
Cooper Davis, 0-0
Alexandre Cardozo, 0-0
Austin Meier, 0-0
Robson Aragao, 0-0
Tyler Harr, 0-0
Skeeter Kingsolver, 0-0
Jay Miller, 0-0
Neil Holmes, 0-0
Dakota Louis, 0-0

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.