Harris takes Round 1 in Anaheim

J.W. Harris rides Grandpa Joe for 87.5 points and the round win. Photo By: Andy Watson/BullStockMedia.com


  • J.W. Harris covered Grandpa Joe to win Round 1 in Anaheim, California.
  • Shane Proctor got on three bulls on Friday night, finishing in second place after an 87-point ride on his re-ride bull, Redbone.
  • Current world leader Matt Triplett is tied for eighth in the event average with Kasey Hayes after riding Hawaiian Hurricane for 85.5 points.

In This Article

ANAHEIM, Calif. – J.W. Harris, the 2014 Professional Bull Riders (PBR) Rookie of the Year, captured his first round win of the  2015 Built Ford Tough Series (BFTS) Friday with his 87.5-point ride aboard Grandpa Joe (Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger Bucking Bulls) during Round 1 of the Anaheim Invitational at the Honda Center.

A four-time PRCA champion, Harris (May, Texas) earned 100 points toward the world standings thanks to his round win and is currently ranked No. 17 in the PBR world standings heading into Round 2 on Saturday night.

“It’s good to ride and good to win a round,” Harris said. “It sets you up for the weekend.”

Landing in second place for the round was Shane Proctor (Mooresville, North Carolina) who continued his early season momentum, turning in his 13th ride in 17 outs for the season with an 87-point performance aboard Redbone (Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger/Clay Struve). He earns 60 points toward the world standings.

Ryan Dirteater (Hulbert, Oklahoma) and Marco Eguchi (Poa Sao Paulo, Brazi) finished in third and fourth place with 86.75- and 86.5-point trips, respectively. Dirteater is awarded 50 world standings points and Eguchi is credited with 40 points based upon their round finishes.

Gage Gay (Staley, North Carolina), Sean Willingham (Summerville, Georgia), and Chase Outlaw (Hamburg, Arizona), are tied for fifth place, each recording 86-point rides in the round. The three riders earn 10 world standings points.

World leader Matt Triplett (Kalispell, Montana) posted a ride score of 85.5 points on Hawaiian Hurricane (Scott Silveira) and is currently tied for eighth place with Kasey Hayes (Liberal, Kansas), who rode DaNutso.

Round 2 of the Anaheim Invitational takes place Saturday at 6:50 p.m. PT.  It will air live on CBS Sports Network starting at 10 p.m. ET.  Fans can also watch each round of action in real-time on PBR LIVE at www.pbr.com/live.

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
2015 Anaheim Invitational          

Honda Center in Anaheim, Calif.
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Round 4-Event Aggregate-Event Points) 

1. J.W. Harris, 87.5-0-0-0-87.50-100 Points.
2. Shane Proctor, 87-0-0-0-87.00-60 Points.
3. Ryan Dirteater, 86.75-0-0-0-86.75-50 Points.
4. Marco Eguchi, 86.5-0-0-0-86.50-40 Points.
5. Chase Outlaw, 86-0-0-0-86.00-10 Points.
(tie). Sean Willingham, 86-0-0-0-86.00-10 Points.
(tie). Gage Gay, 86-0-0-0-86.00-10 Points.
8. Matt Triplett, 85.5-0-0-0-85.50
(tie). Kasey Hayes, 85.5-0-0-0-85.50
10. Mike Lee, 85.25-0-0-0-85.25
11. J.B. Mauney, 85-0-0-0-85.00
(tie). Joao Ricardo Ricardo Vieira, 85-0-0-0-85.00
13. Silvano Alves, 84.75-0-0-0-84.75
14. Fabiano Vieira, 84.25-0-0-0-84.25
15. Dave Mason, 84-0-0-0-84.00
16. Valdiron de de Oliveira, 83.25-0-0-0-83.25
17. Kaique Pacheco de Oliveira, 82.5-0-0-0-82.50
18. Robson Palermo, 82-0-0-0-82.00
19. Tyler Harr, 81.5-0-0-0-81.50
20. Nathan Schaper, 80.25-0-0-0-80.25
Reese Cates, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Guilherme Marchi, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Ben Jones, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Tanner Byrne, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Cody Nance, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Brady Sims, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Cooper Davis, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Eduardo Aparecido Silva, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Renato Nunes, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Bryan Titman, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0-0-0-0.00
L.J. Jenkins, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Stetson Lawrence, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Douglas Duncan, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Stormy Wing, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Zane Lambert, 0-0-0-0-0.00

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.