Leme wins RVT event in Colorado Springs

Jose Vitor Leme won the last regular-season event of the 2018 PBR season. Photo: Andre Silva/BullStockMedia.com


  • Going 3-for-3, Jose Vitor Leme came closer to world No. 1 Kaique Pacheco by earning 120 points in Colorado Springs.
  • Three of the top five finishers in Colorado Springs will all be competing next weekend at the RVT Finals in Las Vegas.
  • PBR Finals Week begins on Nov. 2-3 with the RVT Finals at South Point in Las Vegas.

In This Article

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- With highest-scoring ride of the weekend, Jose Vitor Leme (Ribas do Rio Pardo, Brazil) won the last regular-season PBR event of the year at the Real Time Pain Relief Velocity Tour (RVT) Colorado Springs Classic at the Broadmoor World Arena on Saturday night.

Leme, the 2017 PBR Rookie of the Year recorded a monster 90.5-point ride aboard War Cloud (D4 Cattle Company/Tom & Peggy) to win the championship round. The Brazilian went 3-for-3 after also tallying 86.5 points on Dream Catcher (Good Ride Apparel/Wallgren&Hale Bull Company) in Round 2.

Leme earned $6,700 along with 120 points towards the PBR world standings and closed in on world No. 1 Kaique Pacheco (Itatiba, Brazil). He also vaulted to No. 9 in the Velocity standings, securing himself a place in next week’s RVT Finals in Las Vegas. Pacheco didn’t earn any points in Colorado Springs and heads to the RVT Finals with lead of 1,590 on No. 2 Leme.

Paulo Lima (Bezerros, Brazil) also went 3-for-3 to finish in second place. He rode Arkansas Flash (Sustaire/Barrett Willis Bucking Stock LLC) in Round 2 for 86.5 points and then went 8 aboard Speckled Chicken (Rawson/Obernagel/Daisy’s Bucking Bulls) for 86 points in the championship round.

Lima earned $3,900 and 70 points, moving to No. 4 in the Velocity standings.

Third place went to Ezekiel Mitchell (Baytown, Texas), who just missed out on qualifying for his second RVT Finals. Mitchell went 3-for-3, earning rides on Harambe (D4 Cattle Company/Tom&Peggy) for 85 points in Round 2 and Last Chance (Halpain & Roth) for 88 points in the championship round.

Mitchell earned 40 world points and a paycheck of $2,600.

In fourth place was No. 12 Dener Barbosa (Paulo de Faria, Brazil). Also riding all three of his bulls, Barbosa earned 20 world points and took home $1,900.

Barbosa rode Updown Updown (Flip’em Buck’en Bulls/Knapp) in Round 2 for 83 points before conquering Kookaburra (Flip’em Buck’en Bulls/Knapp) in a rematch for 88 points in the championship round.

Rounding out the Top 5 was the hard-charging Arkansas cowboy, Chase Outlaw (Hamburg). Outlaw went 3-for-3 and held the event lead briefly after riding Gin Palace (Jerilyns Elite Buckin’ Bulls) for 86.5 points in the championship round. Outlaw also made the whistle aboard Carnival Ride (IQH Bucking Bulls) earlier in the night for 84 points.

The No. 35 cowboy has punched his ticket to Finals Week after earning 15 points in Colorado Springs. He also took home a paycheck of $1,040.

Next week the Real Time Relief Velocity Tour Finals will take place at South Point in Las Vegas on Friday, Nov. 2 and Saturday, Nov. 3 at 7:00 p.m. PT. Five riders from the RVT Finals will earn their way to the PBR World Finals on Nov. 7-11 at T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas.

Fans will be able to watch all the action from Colorado Springs beginning tomorrow at 8:00 a.m. on RidePass.com.

PBR Velocity Tour – Colorado Springs, Colorado
Colorado Springs Classic 
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Jose Vitor Leme, 88.5-86.5-90.5-265.50-120 Points.
2. Paulo Ferreira Lima, 86-87-86-259.00-70 Points.
3. Ezekiel Mitchell, 85-85-88-258.00-40 Points.
4. Dener Barbosa, 83-83-88-254.00-20 Points.
5. Chase Outlaw, 82-84-86.5-252.50-15 Points.
6. Joao Ricardo Vieira, 84-86-80-250.00-10 Points.
7. Fernando Henrique Novais, 84-82-82-248.00-5 Points.
8. Mason Taylor, 87-89-0-176.00
9. Danilo Carlos Sobrinho, 87-0-85.5-172.50
10. Cannon Cravens, 87.5-0-0-87.50
(tie). Cody Campbell, 0-87.5-0-87.50
(tie). Ricky Aguiar, 87.5-0-0-87.50\
13. Brennon Eldred, 86.5-0-0-86.50\
14. Keyshawn Whitehorse, 86-0-0-86.00
(tie). Ueberson Duarte, 0-86-0-86.00
16. Lachlan Richardson, 85-0-0-85.00
(tie). Tye Chandler, 85-0-0-85.00
(tie). Lindomar Lino, 85-0-0-85.00
(tie). Bryan Titman, 85-0-0-85.00
20. Claudio Montanha Jr., 0-84-0-84.00
(tie). Mason Lowe, 84-0-0-84.00
22. Kaique Pacheco, 0-83-0-83.00
(tie). Marco Antonio Eguchi, 0-83-0-83.00
(tie). Junio Quaresima, 0-83-0-83.00
25. Brock Radford, 82-0-0-82.00
26. Alisson De Souza, 79-0-0-79.00
Luciano De Castro, 0-0-0-0.00
Cody Teel, 0-0-0-0.00
Silvano Alves, 0-0-0-0.00
Cody Jesus, 0-0-0-0.00
Rubens Barbosa, 0-0-0-0.00
Lucas Divino, 0-0-0-0.00
Juan Carlos Contreras, 0-0-0-0.00
Chase Robbins, 0-0-0-0.00
Eli Miller, 0-0-0-0.00
Justin Granger, 0-0-0-0.00
Wallace Vieira de Oliveira, 0-0-0-0.00
Austin Richardson, 0-0-0-0.00
Cody Casper, 0-0-0-0.00
Taylor Toves, 0-0-0-0.00
Jake Gowdy, 0-0-0-0.00
Dayton Johnston, 0-0-0-0.00
Stormy Wing, 0-0-0-0.00

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.