Young gun Jesse wins Round 1 at WinStar World Casino and Resort Invitational

Colten Jesse won Round 1 at the WinStar World Casino and Resort Invitational. Photo: Andy Watson/


  • Colten Jesse rode Pick-It Construction's Find Jesus for 88.25 points to win Round 1 in Austin.
  • Jesse is now within 55.83 points of the Rookie of the Year leader Keyshawn Whitehorse.
  • Guilherme Marchi, Lachlan Richardson, Claudio Montanha Jr. and Joao Ricardo Vieira rounded out the Top 5.

In This Article

AUSTIN, Texas – Opening the first of two nights in Austin, Colten Jesse (Konawa, Oklahoma) won Round 1 of The 25th PBR: Unleash The Beast, Winstar World Casino & Resort Invitational, Friday night at Frank Erwin Center.

Jesse claimed the victory atop Pick-It Construction’s Find Jesus (Ogden Ranch/Hart Cattle Co) for 88.25 points. The young Oklahoma cowboy, who is currently in a heated race for the 2018 PBR Rookie of the Year, earned 100 world points for the round win, surging him even closer to front runner Keyshawn Whitehorse (McCracken Springs, Utah). Whitehorse leads the Rookie of the Year race by a mere 55.83 points.

“It’s pretty special — the first small hill on the way to the mountain,” Jesse said in describing his first regular-season round win at a non-PBR Major. “Your chest swells up a bit, but you got to come back tomorrow and do it again.”

2008 PBR World Champion Guilherme Marchi (TresLagoas, Brazil) brought the Texas crowd to its feet with his impressive 87-point ride aboard Shootin Stars (Flying High Rodeo Co/Vickers Buckers). The qualified ride marks Marchi’s 631st on the PBR’s premier series, the most of any PBR rider to date. For his second-place round finish, Marchi earned 60 world points, moving him from No. 26 in the world standings to No. 21.

Prior to his third-place finish, Lachlan Richardson (Gresford, Australia) held the No. 33 spot in the world standings. He walked away from Round 1 at No. 31 after riding Dusty’s Revenge (Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger/Clay Struve/H&C Bucking Bulls) for 86.75 points. Richardson earned 50 world points for his efforts.

Claudio Montanha Jr. (Pacaembu Sao Paulo, Brazil) and fellow countryman Joao Ricardo Vieira (Itatinga, Brazil) split fourth-place on Friday evening with matching 86.5-point rides. Vieira made the 8 aboard No Prisoners (Dakota Rodeo Company/ Chad Berger/ Clay Struve/ Shelley Cadzow) moving him from No. 23 in the world standings to No. 22. In one of the last remaining rides of the night, Montanha Jr. conquered Alligator Arms (TNT Bucking Bulls/HRC/Hart Cattle), furthering his hold on the No. 2 spot in the world standings. Both riders earned 35 world points for their efforts.

The best bull riders in the world will return to the Frank Erwin Center on Saturday, September 29 for Round 2 and the championship round of the Winstar World Casino & Resort Invitational.

The action will be streaming live on and the RidePass mobile app. Replays from Round 1 will be available starting at 8 a.m. ET on Saturday, September 29.

25th PBR: Unleash The Beast - Winstar World Casino & Resort Invitational
Frank Erwin Center, Austin, Texas
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Round 4-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Colten Jesse, 88.25-0-0-88.25-100 Points.
2. Guilherme Marchi, 87-0-0-87.00-60 Points.
3. Lachlan Richardson, 86.75-0-0-86.75-50 Points.
4. Claudio Montanha Jr., 86.5-0-0-86.50-35 Points.
(tie). Joao Ricardo Vieira, 86.5-0-0-86.50-35 Points.
6. Keyshawn Whitehorse, 86-0-0-86.00-10 Points.
(tie). Sean Willingham, 86-0-0-86.00-10 Points.
8. Cody Jesus, 85-0-0-85.00
9. Alisson De Souza, 84.75-0-0-84.75
10. Cody Nance, 84-0-0-84.00
11. Valdiron de Oliveira, 82.5-0-0-82.50
12. Dener Barbosa, 81.75-0-0-81.75
Kaique Pacheco, 0-0-0-0.00
Jose Vitor Leme, 0-0-0-0.00
Ramon de Lima, 0-0-0-0.00
Cooper Davis, 0-0-0-0.00
Luciano De Castro, 0-0-0-0.00
Cody Teel, 0-0-0-0.00
Eduardo Aparecido, 0-0-0-0.00
Fabiano Vieira, 0-0-0-0.00
Ryan Dirteater, 0-0-0-0.00
Derek Kolbaba, 0-0-0-0.00
Dakota Buttar, 0-0-0-0.00
Marco Antonio Eguchi, 0-0-0-0.00
Stetson Lawrence, 0-0-0-0.00
Matt Triplett, 0-0-0-0.00
Alex Marcilio, 0-0-0-0.00
Nathan Burtenshaw, 0-0-0-0.00
Koal Livingston, 0-0-0-0.00
Brennon Eldred, 0-0-0-0.00
Silvano Alves, 0-0-0-0.00
Gage Gay, 0-0-0-0.00
J.B. Mauney, 0-0-0-0.00
Marcos Gloria, 0-0-0-0.00
Emilio Resende, 0-0-0-0.00
Lucas Divino, 0-0-0-0.00
Jhonatan Santillan, 0-0-0-0.00

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.