Back to Jim Shoulders Award

Jim Shoulders Award: Tandy Freeman

Profile Image of Tandy Freeman

Tandy Freeman

Dallas, TX

Who is Tandy Freeman?

First awarded in 2011, the Jim Shoulder Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a non-bull rider who has made a significant contribution to the sport. Since 1995, Dr. Tandy Freeman, the official on-site doctor for the PBR, has crisscrossed the country with the PBR’s Built Ford Tough Series, examining and treating athletes at every stop. He is also the Medical Director of Justin Sportsmedicine, which services the NFR. Freeman’s professional commitment and dedication to Western sports athletes have led to him receiving the Texas Rodeo Cowboy Hall of Fame Western Heritage Award (2008) and being named the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association Texas Circuit Man of the Year (2004) and the Resistol Rodeo Man of the Year (2010). He also received the Lane Frost Award in 2012 and was inducted into the Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame in 2013.